Research guides: Anthropology: Get Started

Library of Congress Call numbers of interest to Anthropology

CC Archaeology
E51-E74 Pre-Columbian America
E75-99 Indians of North America
F1218.5 - F1221 Indians of Mexico
GN Anthropology
GR Folklore
QE882.P7 Primates, Fossil
QH431 Human Genetics
QL737.P9-QL737.P965 Primates
QP98 Blood Groups
R134.8 Palaeontology
RA1059 Forensic Osteology
Z1208-1210 Indians of North America –Bibliography
Z5111-5119 Anthropology and Ethnology -Bibliography

Main Anthropology Databases

Anthropology Plus
Identify publications relating to social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Coverage: 1880s - present
AnthroSource
Articles and book reviews from anthropology journals of the American Anthropological Association.
Coverage: 1889 - present
Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource includes: Current issues for 11 of the AAA's peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, NAPA Bulletin and PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review. It also includes a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Indexes books, articles, and government documents about Indigenous peoples of North America, covering the 1500s to the present.
Coverage: 1500s - present
eHRAF World Cultures
Descriptive information on the cultures of the world, ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. Designed to facilitate cross-cultural comparisons.
Coverage: Ancient - current
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. These full-text materials, which are subject-indexed at the paragraph-level, relate to various social science disciplines as well as the humanities and health sciences. eHRAF includes a variety of source documents (books, articles, and dissertations) for each culture or ethnic group. These documents have been indexed and organized according to HRAF's culture and subject classification systems: the Outline of World Cultures (OWC), and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).
eHRAF: Archaeology
Contains archaeological materials for comparative studies within and across regions.
Coverage: Ancient - current
JSTOR
Provides access to back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years)

Your Librarian