It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This section links to resources that can be used to identify a variety of scholarly resources about an artist or work:
Look for Clues in all Types of Scholarly Documents
Scholarly resources about a work or an artist can be a source for clues of an item's provenance. Check for mention of the art work -- reference to provenance, bibliography, exhibitions, and other sources such as reference to others who are researching this artist or work.
Find Research Published in a Thesis or Dissertation
Below are links to a number of sources for identifying theses and dissertations.
For the following databases, search on artist or work in the Subject/Artist field. "Book" is the publication type for monographs. "Essay" is the publication type for essays in collections/book chapters. (Note: Library catalogues will index a collection of essays by editor as author.)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Coverage: 1974 - present
Scope begins with 19th century art movements and covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) system can be used to perform a federated search on a set of library catalogues. For example, you can set your profile to search the Ontario university libraries that have a strong fine arts collection.
Other Library Catalogues: search catalogues from around the world. An Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request will get you titles that we don't hold locally.