Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fine Arts: Fine 130: Introduction to Digital Imaging

This subject guide describes the University of Waterloo Library's resources and services that support research in Fine Arts

Welcome!

This page can help you find resources for your various FINE 130 assignments. The sections below target ways to:

  • Tips on how to search for images
  • Recognize Creative Commons licenses (and what they mean)
  • Suggested online image collections for public domain and creative common images
  • Cite your sources using MLA style 
  • Get one-on-one research assistance

If you have a question, please reach out! Contact me and we can talk about your search over email or Microsoft Teams!

Searching for images

1. Coming up with search terms

When thinking of your topic, consider all the words that might be used to describe it. The different words you come up with can be used when you search in different image databases and online image collections! Try the following tips:

  • What concepts are you interested in explore? List keywords that describe the concept.
  • Having trouble finding sources? Consider using a thesaurus to find synonyms and out-dated terms.

Try recording your ideas by using the Search Statement worksheet. If you complete a search statement worksheet and want a second opinion, feel free to email me! We can look over it together. 

2. What to look for

When you're ready to search for images, the Online Image Collection course offers some suggestions of different image collections that might be useful in your search and a quick refresher about copyright and creative commons licenses! Here's some quick tips as you start to find images:

  • In a way that works for you, write down the image information, such as the URL, creator name and title of work. This can be used later for the MLA citation. 
  • Note the copyright or creative commons policy for the image. Creative commons licenses typically look like the image below or may be written out, such as 'CC-BY'. This will tell you what you can and cannot do with the image. 
  • If there is no license, check the policy page from the website to see if it offers information on what can and cannot be done with their images. 

CC-BY

Recommended online image collections

The following is a list of suggested spaces to search for creative common licensed and public domain images. Additional image collection suggestions and how to search within them can be found in the Online Image Collection course

Looking for citation help?

Liaison Librarian for English Language and Literature

Profile Photo
Nancy Collins
Contact:
519-888-4567 Ext. 32446

Would you like to set up a meeting?

Contact me about any research or library-related questions you have. 

For example, I can:

  • help you find additional sources
  • help you with a tricky citation
  • guide you on how to use library databases
  • ... and more!

Submit questions, problems, and feedback to library staff

Link to Ask Us service