Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology: Get Journal Articles

Anthropology Subject Page

Find citations

  About this page

Already know the article you need?  Use these tools to search for the journal title at the uWaterloo Library. 

E-HRAF World Cultures Database

eHRAF logo

 

e-HRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level and indexed with the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM) subject headings. The full text is available linked as "entire file" in e-HRAF. The e-HRAF site offers a workshop on anthropological concepts and theories.

eHRAF is produced by the Human Relations Area Files, Inc. (HRAF) at Yale University. The mission of HRAF, a non-profit consortium of universities and colleges, is to encourage and facilitate worldwide and other comparative studies of human behavior, society, and culture.

Many Web-based Library resources are restricted to members of the uWaterloo community. To access this resources from off-campus you must use the Library's Connect from Home proxy service.

Once you have your citation

Getting your article.

If the database you are using includes the "Get it at Waterloo" link, that should be your starting point.  Click it to see if you can get full text-online access directly from the database.  Some databases also offer access top the PDF directly.  If that method fails, continue with the steps below.

E-journal and print journal titles database

Search for the journal title in our collection.  Tip: check to make sure we own the year of publication that you need.

Journal Articles Not Available at UW

Order article through RACER

  • If the material you need is not in OMNI you can request it in RACER.
  • Login with your last name/barcode or WatIAM credentials to search the RACER catalogue for a library record to automatically complete the request form OR fill in a blank request.
  • This service generally takes up to 10 business days. Usually no cost. If there is a cost, you will be contacted before the order is finalized.
  • RACER helps and hints.  Highly recommended for beginners.