Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender and Social Justice: Finding Articles

This guide provides an overview of locating print and electronic resources in Gender and Social Justice at the University of Waterloo Library.

How Can I Tell If an Article is Peer-Reviewed?

Peer-reviewed articles may also be called “scholarly articles,” “academic articles,” or “refereed articles.” They are articles that have been reviewed by peers or experts in the author’s field of research/study.

To learn if an article is peer-reviewed...

  • Search for the journal the article appears in within Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
  • If the journal is listed as “refereed” in Ulrich’s (it would have this referee image: Ulrich's Refereed Icon), it is a peer-reviewed journal

Besides checking Ulrich's, here are some clues that an article is peer-reviewed:

  • It's long. Generally peer-reviewed articles are at least 10 pages long
  • It references other research articles and contains extensive footnotes/endnotes
  • It contains additional author information, such as the author's contact information and scholarly credentials
  • It is published by an academic publisher or academic/professional association

If you're still not sure, contact your instructor or librarian.

Databases for Gender and Social Justice

These databases are recommended starting points for finding articles in Gender and Social Justice.

See a full list of databases for Gender and Social Justice.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Women's Studies Journals

There are many important journals that publish research in Women's Studies. This is a (non-exhaustive) list of some useful journals. Please review their table of contents for relevant articles.

Newspaper and Magazine Articles

Check out these guides and news databases: