Research guides: Studies in Islam: Web Resources

Evalutating useful websites

Also there are some useful websites that will help you evaluate any Internet sources in greater detail.

Evaluating Internet Sources(UBC)
Evaluating Web Pages(UC Berkeley Library)
The Good, The Bad & The Ugly: Or, Why It's a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources. (New Mexico State University)
Includes links to examples of both "good" and "bad" websites.
How to Critically Analyze Information Sources (Cornell University)
Helps you determine the relevance and authority of a resource.
Evaluating Information Found on the Internet (Johns Hopkins University Library)
Evaluates web and other Internet resources for scholarly purposes.
Islam Bibliography Project (Newfoundland and Labrador University)

Resourses online

1001 Inventions
An initiative of the Foundation for Science, Technology, and Civilisation.
more...less...
Companion book: 1001 Inventions : Muslim Heritage in Our World (2nd ed., 2007), available in Renison Lusi Wong Library, BP190.5.S3 A15x 2007.
877-WHY-ISLAM Project
Managed by ICNA (Islamic Circle of North America)
Abu Dhabi Gallup Center
A Gallup research hub based in the capital of the United Arab Emirates.
more...less...
Offers unmatched research on the attitudes and aspirations of Muslims around the world.
Abu Hamid al-Ghazali
Abu Hamid al-Ghazali (450-505 AH/1058-1111 AD) [aka: al-Ghazzali , Algazel ] is one of the great jurists, theologians and mystics of the 12th century.
more...less...
Provides the complete works of al-Ghazali (that have been putblished in print) in the original language and in translation. Includes other primary research material.
Arabic Collections Online
Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content, including up to 15,000 volumes from NYU and partner institutions over a period of five years. NYU and the partner institutions are contributing all types of material—literature, business, science, and more—from their Arabic language collections.
Busuu
Bibliographies on Islam
From the Religious Studies Web Guide, maintained by Saundra Lipton (lipton@ucalgary.ca).
Historians of Islamic Art Association (HIAA)
Dedicated to promoting the study and teaching of the art, architecture and archaeology of Islamic cultures world-wide.
Islamic Art
Part of the Five Faiths Project of the Ackland Art Museum at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Islamic Art, Music, And Architecture Around The World
From Islam and Islamic Studies Resources, the website of Professor Alan Godlas of the Department of Religion at the University of Georgia.
Islamic Medical & Scientific Ethics (IMSE) Project
A searchable database which includes over 1,700 relevant written works.
more...less...
A collaborative effort of two Georgetown Libraries, the Bioethics Research Library (Washington) and the School of Foreign Service-Qatar Library (Doha), to produce a comprehensive collection of resources pertaining to Islamic perspectives in the broad field of bioethics.
For searching tips, see http://engage.bioethics.georgetown.edu/content.php?pid=221421&sid=1849739
Islamic Philosophy Online - Philosophia Islamica
A not-for-profit website dedicated to academic study of Islamic philosophy.
more...less...
This site contains hundreds of full-length books and articles on Islamic philosophy, ranging from the classical texts in the canon of Islamic philosophy to modern works of Muslim philosophy.
ISLAMiCommentary
Perspectives & Research on Islam and the Muslim Experience.
more...less...
One component of the Transcultural Islam Project--launched by the Duke Islamic Studies Center (Duke University), in partnership with the Carolina Center for the Study of the Middle East and Muslim Civilizations (UNC Chapel Hill) and the Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies (a Recognized Independent Centre of at University of Oxford).
Jadaliyya
An independent ezine produced by ASI (Arab Studies Institute), the umbrella organization that produces Arab Studies Journal (www.ArabStudiesJournal.org).
more...less...
Provides a unique source of insight and critical analysis that combines local knowledge, scholarship, and advocacy with an eye to audiences in the United States, the Arab world, and beyond. The site currently publishes posts both in Arabic and in English.
Minaret of Freedom Weblog
The Minaret of Freedom Institute's blog.
Muslim Resources
From The Pluralism Project, Resources by Tradition, at Harvard University.
Mysiticism
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. This authoritative, dynamic resource brings together the best current scholarship in the field for students, scholars, government officials, community groups, and librarians to foster a more accurate and informed understanding of the Islamic world.
Pray for Privacy: apps for Muslims that respect your personal data
Researchers analyzed the privacy and security of 175 apps made for Muslims. Who the user data is shared with is not investigate, but research gives a clear picture of what personal information is accessible to the app developers.

Research guides by subject

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!