Research guides: Pharmacy : Electronic Journals (Browse journals, or look for a place to publish)

Electronic journals

We have access to more than 600+ pharmacy and pharmacology journals.

Browse our electronic journal collection.

Enter a journal title in the search box, or use the "Journals by category" option to browse journals by category, e.g. Health & Biological Sciences.

Looking to publish your work?

Discounts on open access journal fees
Discounts for Waterloo authors through ACS open access initiatives, Biomed Central, MDPI journals, NRC Research Press open access initiatives, SAGE, and SpringerOPEN.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Directory of high-quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Can identify journals which do not charge article processing fees (APCs) and/or journals which allow authors to retain all rights.
Journal Guide
Provides a way to search across 46,000+ journals to help you find the best journal for your paper.
JANE - Journal/Author Name Estimator
Search for potential journals to publish in, based off of your title,abstract, or keywords.
Jot - Journal Targeter
Explore journals matched to your manuscript's title, abstract and references.

The following article explains how to interpret Jot:

Gaffney SG, Townsend JP. Jot: guiding journal selection with suitability metrics. J Med Libr Assoc. 2022;110(3):376-380. doi:10.5195/jmla.2022.1499

Types of articles

Scholarly journals versus trade journals versus popular magazines
A comparison chart outlining the features of scholarly journals, trade journals, and popular magazines.
Peer-reviewed journal articles
This link defines peer-reviewed journal articles and provides 3 ways to identify whether an article is peer-reviewed.

Avoiding predatory publishers and journals

Author Rights and Publishing Considerations
UWaterloo's guide on how not to publish in an undesirable journal. Includes a useful table comparing the criteria of undesirable journals to reputable journals.
Illegitimate & Predatory Publishing (University of Pittsburgh)
This guide defines predatory publishing and includes helpful tips for avoiding illegitimate publishers. Includes links to resources you can use when evaluating the quality of an individual journal or publisher.
Think.Check.Submit
A quick guide on how to choose where to publish.
Criteria for Determining Potential Predatory Publishers
Features of potential predatory journals; lists of potential predatory journals and publishers.

Research guides by subject

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!