Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
House of Commons Publications
Documents published by House of Commons include the Debates, Committees, Bills, Journals, Sessional Papers and more.
House of Commons Committees
A “committee” is a group of parliamentarians, selected to consider matters, including bills, referred to it by the Senate or the House of Commons. This page provides the standing committee list, notices of meetings, evidence and information regarding witnesses, news releases, and searchable documents.
Journals of the House of Commons
Journals are the permanent official record of the House. They include daily Votes and Proceedings. From 35th Parliament (1994) to present. Indexed and searchable by subject and date.
Journals of the House of Commons of Canada.
Print located at the Dana Porter 5th floor.
Search Canadian House of Commons bills starting with the 35th Parliament, 1st Session (Jan. 1994- ) and Senate bills starting with the 36th Parliament, 1st Session (Sept. 1997- ).
Canadian Legislative Pulse
Searchable full text database containing Canadian federal and provincial Bills, updated continuously every business day.
Access restricted to uWaterloo students, faculty and staff.
Canada Gazette is the official newspaper of the Government of Canada. Includes notices and proposed regulations, official regulations, and Acts of Parliament.
Consolidated Acts and Regulations
Find current laws and regulations of the Canadian government. This site also provides links to several important resources for case law, bills, regulations, reference documents, income tax law, and frequently accessed statutes.
Documents published by the Senate include the Debates, Journals, committee reports, bills and more.
Journals of the Senate of Canada
Journals are the official record of minutes of the meetings of the Senate. The 35th Parliament (1996) to the present are available online.
Finding Canadian Government Documents
Canadian Research Index (CRI)
The CRI provides citations and abstracts to many Canadian government (federal and provincial) publications, including annual reports, scientific and statistical reports and policy papers.
Access to the government publications and select legislative materials found in Canadian legislative and parliamentary libraries.
Government of Canada Publications
Publishing and Depository Services (PDS) provides information about Government of Canada publications. laws, regulations and notices.
Library and Archives Canada
The Library and Archives Canada (LAC) collection is the shared documentary heritage of all Canadians. It contains links to databases, resources and virtual exhibitions. Includes an index to Federal Royal Commissions and the diaries of Mackenzie King.
Library of Parliament Research Publications
Documents prepared by the Library of Parliament on various issues for Senators and Members of Parliament.