We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Porter Stacks 6th - 10th floors
Books are shelved by Library of Congress call number.
Most books for Philosophy are classified in the B's (6th floor.)
Journal articles and books not available in Omni
If the material you need is not available in Omni, you can request it using the blank request form found at the top of the Omni results screen under Interlibrary Loan.
Suggest a purchase
Suggestions for new library acquisitions are welcomed using this form to recommend a purchase.
Varieties of Scholarly Books
Monograph
Scholarly work on a particular topic usually by a single author
Multi-volume Set
Scholarly work consisting of more than one item
Collection
Edited work with chapters that are essays contributed by individual authors
Monographic Series
Set of scholarly works on a particular topic published at intervals
Ebook
Book published in electronic format
Ebook Platform
Web-based interface providing access to ebooks along with a search engine, bookmarking capabilities, etc.
Etext
Searchable primary source text
Search Bibliographies to Find Citations for Books
Bibliographie de la philosophie = Bibliography of philosophy
international listing of book publications in all areas of philosophy; includes abstracts.
Porter Reference B77.B52x. Porter
v. 1, 1954 to v.52 no.1/2, 2005
- International Aristotle BibliographyBooks, articles, book reviews and dissertations on the philosopher Aristotle.
Coverage: 1900 - present - International Philosophical BibliographyComprehensive index to philosophical literature including books, journals, and book reviews.
Coverage: 1997 - present.
Available in print in the abstracts area B2.R47x Porter from 1938. - International Philosophical Bibliography RetrospectiveIndexes philosophical literature published prior to 1997, including books, journals, and book reviews (Backfiles are being added continuously).
Coverage: 1970s - 1996.
This index is also available in print in Porter Reference B2.R47x from 1938 to 1988.
Primary Source etext
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)provides digital access to more than one hundred thousand literary and historical texts printed between 1475 - 1700.
These are facsimiles of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere. - Past MastersAuthoritative editions by notable figures of the Humanities. Coverage includes philosophy, political thought, women writers, and religious studies.
Filter by geographical area, gender, and time period.
Coverage: ancient - modern