It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Records of Canadian men and women who served in the military, from New France to the Second World War. Find muster rolls, military service files, unit war diaries, medal registers, photographs, documentary art and posters, as well and more.
Contains articles on each branch of the Canadian military and their operations, has sections on the Canadian home front, Canadian veterans, health, and current defense issues. Explore the “On This Date” feature to connect to Canada’s military history.
Government of Canada. Records, research and publications about Canada’s military history, the Canadian Forces and the wars they fought. Contains research and writing of Canada’s official military histories. The History and Archives section provides official histories, an operational database, and photographs.
This site specifically focuses on members of Waterloo County's 118th Oversees Battalion and their activities. Via the Laurier Center for Military, Strategic, and Disarmament Studies. Coverage: 1914 - 1918
From UWaterloo Library's Special Collections & Archives records related to Cameron’s military training, uniform and personal gear, and service overseas. Also included are records related to Cameron’s time as a prisoner of war and his liberation and repatriation home to Canada and his life in later years. Coverage: 1939 - 2017
Many of the links in this section were compiled and annotated by Joshua Pride under the direction of Prof. Geoffrey Hayes, Winter 2014. Updated 2021.
Includes Canadian locations:
* "Caribou" from Flat Bay, Newfoundland
* "Indian" from Hagersville, Ontario
* "Kamloops Wawa" from Kamloops, British Columbia
* "Secwepemc" from Kamloops, British Columbia
* "Ashigiamuk" from Metlakatla, British Columbia
*"Caribou News" from Nepean, Ontario
Facilitates the study of invasion and colonization. Find materials relating to customs, dance, music, warfare, peace treaties, removal grants, legends, and myths. Coverage: 1600s - 2000s
Search manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, images of artwork, and more. Included are "Iroquois Indians: a documentary history of the diplomacy of the Six Nations and their league" and the Javitch Collection (University of Alberta)
Department of Indian Affairs. Contains admission and discharge records of students as well as files on the establishment of individual schools.
Look for the "Help" link to find a pdf file that lists specific volumes, schools, and agencies and the corresponding microfilm reel number. Coverage: 1879 - 1953
The Voice of the Fugitive (1851-1852)
The Provincial Freeman (1853-1876)
The Voice of the Bondsman (1856)
The True Royalist (1860-1861)
The Atlantic Advocate (1915-1917)
The Dawn of Tomorrow (1923-1972)
The Nova Scotia Gleaner (1929)
The Clarion--For Church and Community (1946-1949)
Material is related to the activities, travels, and genealogy of this Berlin/Kitchener/Waterloo family. Includes souvenir guide books, postcards, and other ephemera; family trees; a letter and a plan regarding the Westmount suburb; other correspondence, and more. Coverage: 1867 - 1929