Research guides: Primary Sources: European/worldwide: Magazine and news sources

Worldwide magazine and newspaper sources

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
Various newspaper digitization projects from around the world. Free and fee-based. A-Z list by country.
Coverage:: varies
European newspapers
Coverage: 1700s - present
Historical Jewish Press
Hebrew; French; English language papers.
Coverage: 1783 - 2014

Paper of Record
Archive of selected 19 and 20th century community newspapers from across Canada, the United States, and other countries.
Coverage: varies

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

British Pathé
Search for cinema newsreels, cinema magazines, and historic clips
Coverage: 1896 - 1978

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
English translations and digests of news from around the world.
Coverage: 1941 - 1996

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996
English translations of news broadcasts and publications on the reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and from around the world.
Coverage: 1946 - 1996

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
Nexis Uni

News, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present

Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

English language magazines & newspaper sources

Irish Newspapers in Dublin Libraries
Located in the microroom, Porter's 1st floor [microfilm].
Coverage: 1685 - 1825
Internet Library of Early Journals
Coverage: 1730s - 1860s

Times Digital Archive
Search for news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Coverage: 1785 - 2019

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

Current Digest of the Russian Press
English-language summaries of selected Soviet and Russian press materials.
Coverage: 1949 - 2010

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

The Economist Historical Archive
Coverage: 1843 - 2013
New Statesman and Nation
Coverage: 1913 - 2000
The Listener Historical Archive
BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) that reproduced radio and television programs.
Coverage: 1929 - 1991

Independent Voices: an Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press

Periodicals by feminists, student radicals, Indigenous peoples, anti-war activists, Black rights advocates, two spirit, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, and asexual (2SLGBTQ+) activists, extreme right-wing press, and more.
Coverage: 1950s - present

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources
World News in Indian Newspapers
Contains copies of three English language newspapers: The India Gazette (1782-1834); The Bengal Hurkaru and Chronicle (1822-1866); and The Bengal Times (1876-1908).
Coverage: 1782 - 1908

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

French language magazines & newspaper sources

La Presse
Coverage: 1836 - 1935
Journaux éphémères de 1848 - 1849
Over 76 short-lived revolutionary newspapers. [microfilm]
Coverage: 1848 - 1849
Le Figaro
Coverage: 1854 - 1942
Le Temps
Coverage: 1861 - 1937
L'Humanité
Published by the Communist Party of France.
Coverage: 1904 - 1939, 1944
Le Monde
Coverage: 1944 - present
Le Monde Diplomatique (Le Diplo)
1st floor Porter Library. [microfilm]
Coverage: 1954 - 1998
Selected digital issues of more recent years are available via the Library link above.

German language magazines & newspaper sources

ANNO
(AustriaN Newspapers Online)
Coverage 1689 - 1946
Weimar Studies Network: Digitized Periodicals
German language newspapers and literary, art, and religion journals.
Coverage: 1784 - 1945
ZEFYS Zeitungsinformationssystem
Germany and foreign newspapers in German.
Coverage: 1857 - 1939
März: Halbmonatschrift für deutsche Kultur
Munich, Germany. Porter 3rd floor call no. DD1 .M3. [print]
Coverage: 1907 - 1917
Der Angriff: Aufsätze aus der Kampfzeit
Articles by Joseph Goebbels which appeared in the NSDAP newspaper. [print]
Coverage: 1927 - 1930
DigiZeitschriften
Frankfurter Hefte: Zeitschrift für Kultur und Politik
Porter 3rd floor call no. AP30 .A555. [print]
Coverage: 1946 - 1984

Russian language magazines & newspaper sources

Russian Historical Sources
Find Russian-language government documents and periodicals most which are unavailable in any other format. Don't hesitate to ask Library staff for help getting started.[microcard]
Kolokol = Колокол
Request from the Annex.
Coverage: 1857 - 1867

Current Digest of the Russian Press
English-language summaries of selected Soviet and Russian press materials.
Coverage: 1949 - 2010

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

Pravda = Пра̑вда
Porter 1st floor call no. MIC S29. [microfilm]
Coverage: 1921 - 1938, 1956 - June 1991

Middle East and Asia news sources

World News in Indian Newspapers
Contains copies of three English language newspapers: The India Gazette (1782-1834); The Bengal Hurkaru and Chronicle (1822-1866); and The Bengal Times (1876-1908).
Coverage: 1782 - 1908

Appropriate use guidelines for electronic resources

Historical Jewish Press
Filter by language, time period, and region of the world.
Coverage: 1783 - 1 year ago.
Jrayed – Arabic Newspaper Archive of Ottoman and Mandatory Palestine
Coverage: 1908 - 1999
Nashriyah: digital Iranian history
Scattered (partial) content. Focus:

The premiership of Mohammad Mossadegh and the August 1953 coup d'état against his government (1950-53)
The 1979 Revolution
The late 1990s/early 2000s era of President Mohammad Khatami.

Coverage: 1950s - early 2000s