Access the CPS, CTC, CTMA, CPMA, drug interactions via Lexi-Interact, and patient information. Produced by the Canadian Pharmacists Association (CPhA).
Comprehensive information on all drugs sold in Canada; medication monographs; patient handouts; calculate pediatric doses; compounding formulas; medication pictograms; drug comparison charts, and much more.
Evidence based information on drugs, uses, identification, toxicology, diseases, acute care, drug interactions, and alternative medicine. CareNotes contain monographs about care and medications at a consumer level in several languages. Must contact Pharmacy Liaison Librarian, Caitlin Carter (c8carter@uwaterloo.ca) for username and password.*
Includes CareNotes which are monographs written at a consumer level on the care and medications for medical conditions. Note: Access Access is restricted to faculty, students and staff currently enrolled in the Pharmacy program at the University of Waterloo. Contact the Pharmacy Librarian for access information.
An evidence-based point of care tool covering more than 9,500 topics in 21 specialties, and providing access to patient education, medical calculators, and over 5,200 drug monographs.
Note: You will be asked to authenticate yourself as a member of the University of Waterloo community using your last name and barcode.
Pharmacotherapeutic textbooks, drug monographs, patient handouts, videos, study flashcards, NAPLEX review.
AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references. Tools include calculators, lab test information, and an integrated drug database.
Product specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada. Includes human pharmaceutical and biological drugs, veterinary drugs, and disinfectant products, and ~15,000 products which companies have notified Health Canada as being marketed.
U.S. based free resource which contains A-Z drug facts, American drug manufacturer contact information, as well as a pill identifier, and drug interactions checker.
Learn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Targets non-professionals.
Explores natural health products that have been issued a product licence by Health Canada. This means that Health Canada has assessed these products and has idenfitifed them as safe, effective and of high quality under their recommended conditions of use. Licensed natural health products have an eight digit Natural Product Number (NPN) or Homeopathic Medicine Number (DIN-HM) on the label.
Part of the National Institutes of Health, and is the U.S. Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. Provides an alphabetical listing of health topics and herbs.
Contains selected official text from the United States Pharmacopeia (USP)–National Formulary (NF) which may be applicable to or useful for the practice of compounding. Standards on good compounding practices; monographs for compounded preparations for both human and veterinary use.
Peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Provides data on maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects, and alternative therapies.
Evidence-based info for consumers and healthcare professionals about medication use during pregnancy. Recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). MotherToBaby is run by the non-profit Organization of Teratology Information Specialists (OTIS).
The Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) program is one of the most generous drug benefit programs in Canada, providing coverage for over 4,300 drug products, including nutrition products and diabetic testing agents. Drugs that are not listed in the Ontario Drug Benefit Formulary/Comparative Drug Index (Formulary) are also considered for coverage through the Ministry's Exceptional Access program on a case-by-case basis.
Provides factual information on serious or unexpected side effects or adverse reactions suspected of being associated with health products, such as prescription and non-prescription medications, natural health products, biologically derived products, and medical devices.
One of the goals of ISMP is to collect, collate and analyze actual and potential medication errors reported by practitioners. From this, recommendations and strategies for reducing medication errors can be disseminated to others. This is a non-punitive and voluntary reporting – no identifying information is collected and the information is kept confidential.