Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pharmacy Preceptors: RefWorks

RefWorks

RefWorks helps you keep track of references that you find in PubMed, IPA, Embase, and other databases.

Want to learn more about how to use RefWorks? Contact your pharmacy librarian, Ryan Ball, r2ball@uwaterloo.ca

Creating a Bibliography

Use RefWorks to get started on your bibliography (reference list). ALWAYS review your bibliography to ensure that it meets the full requirements of your desired citation style, such as AMA!

  1. Click on Create Bibliography Click on the Create Bibliography button, which is the fourth button from the left in the top toolbar.
  2. Click on Citation Style Editor, if you need to choose a citation style first (e.g. AMA)
  3. Click on Create Bibliography again
  4. Your references will be formatted in the style you choose
  5. Click on Copy to Clipboard in order to copy and paste the bibliography into a Word document
  6. Review bibliography to ensure it meets full citation style requirements (e.g. journal name abbreviations for AMA)
  7. Note:  Another way to generate a bibliography is through a RefWorks tool called RefWorks Citation Manager. You can download this tool for MS Word via the Tools button in RefWorks.  This tool will let you create your in-text citations and bibliography all within MS Word. Click on the Tools button which is the seventh button from the left in the top toolbar.

Using RefWorks with PubMed (MEDLINE)

  1. Do a search in PubMed
  2. Select articles of interest by checking the box to the left of the article’s title
  3. Select Send To, then Citation Manager, then Create File.  This will generate a text file called citations.nbib
  4. Save this text file to your computer

Then, use RefWorks to import the text file data from PubMed:

  1. Login to your RefWorks account
  2. Click Add and then Import References
  3. Click on Select a file from your computer
  4. Select the text file you previously saved to your computer
  5. Click on Search for the format and choose NLM PubMed before clicking on Import
  6. Your references will appear in the Last Imported Folder

Using RefWorks with IPA, Embase (via Ovid)

  1. Do a search in IPA
  2. Select articles of interest by checking box to the left of the title. Or, select ‘ALL’ at the top
  3. Select Export
  4. From the Format drop down menu, select RefWorks
  5. Under the Fields drop down menu, select Citation, Abstract
  6. Click Export
  7. You’ll be prompted to choose which version of RefWorks to export to – choose Proquest RefWorks (the new RefWorks)
  8. You will be asked to login to RefWorks and then the export will begin; if you are already logged into RefWorks, the export will start automatically
  9. Your references will appear in the Last Imported Folder

Using RefWorks with Google Scholar

  1. Access Google Scholar via the library website (if off-campus, you will be prompted to 'connect from home' with your barcode)
  2. In the top left corner, click on the icon which looks like 3 lines, found next to My ProfileClick on the icon that looks like 3 horizontal lines in the top left corner
  3. Click on Settings
  4. Look for Bibliography Manager
  5. Click on Show links to import citations into and change the selection from BibTeX to RefWorks
  6. Click Save
  7. Do a search in Google Scholar
  8. Find a reference you want to bring into RefWorks
  9. Click Import into RefWorks

       Click on the Import in RefWorks button found under the reference

  1. You'll be prompted to choose which version of RefWorks to export to - choose Proquest RefWorks(the new RefWorks)
  2. You will be asked to login to RefWorks and then the export will begin; if you are already logged into RefWorks, the export will start automatically
  3. Your references will appear in the Last Imported Folder

Using RefWorks with The Cochrane Library

  1. Do a search in The Cochrane Library
  2. Select articles of interest by checking the box to the left of an item
  3. Click Export Selected (or Export All)
  4. Choose desired Export Type (PC, Mac, etc.)
  5. Choose Citation and Abstract as your File Type
  6. Click Export Citation
  7. Save the file to your computer as a .txt file

Then, use Refworks to import the .txt file data from The Cochrane Library:

  1. Log in to RefWorks
  2. Click Add and then Import References
  3. Click on Select a file from your computer
  4. Choose the .txt file that you saved to your computer
  5. Under What is the format of your file, search for Cochrane Library
  6. Click the Import button
  7. Your references will appear in the Last Imported Folder