We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Page overview
There are 3 sections on this page:
American magazine & newspaper sources
- American Periodicals Series OnlineA digital archive of general interest magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and other periodicals.
Coverage: 1740 - 1940
- American NewspapersCoverage: Late 1700s - present.
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)An archive of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Coverage: 1802 - 2005 - Crime, Punishment, and Popular CultureCovers law, criminology, popular culture, phrenology, fiction, and more.
Coverage: 1790 – 1920
- Check List of Negro NewspapersCoverage: 1827 - 1946
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America (formerly American Indian Newspapers)A collection of papers from Indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada.
Coverage: 1828 - 2016 - Nation ArchiveFull archive of this American current affairs weekly magazine.
Coverage: 1865 - 2nd most recent month
- Chronicling AmericaFind information about American newspapers.
Coverage: 1690 - present
- New York Times [digital archive]Search for news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Coverage: 1851 - 3 years ago
- Time Magazine digital archiveMarch 1923- December 2000.
Popular American weekly publication. Articles cover US and international news on a broad spectrum of topics.
Coverage: Mar 1923 - Dec 2000 - I.F. Stone's Weekly/Bi-WeeklyCovers U.S. government and politics of the day. Includes its own index. Call number: Per JK1 .I2 Porter, 3rd floor.
Coverage: 1953 - 1971
- Independent Voices: an Open Access Collection of an Alternative PressPeriodicals by feminists, student radicals, Indigenous peoples, anti-war activists, Black rights advocates, two spirit, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, and asexual (2SLGBTQ+) activists, extreme right-wing press, and more.
Coverage: 1950s - present - Alternative Press Index (API)Tracks articles and other news pieces published in non-mainstream periodicals from the US and Canada.
Coverage: 1969 - present - Nexis UniNews, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present
American broadcast media sources
- National JukeboxCoverage: 1910 - 1925
- American Archive of Public BroadcastingPrograms of publicly funded radio and television from across America.
Coverage: 1940s - present - C-SPAN Video LibraryOver 170,000 hours of archived C-SPAN programs.
Coverage: 1987 - present
Sample article from the New York Times
"Women are urged to take war jobs." New York Times. March 9, 1942, p. 11.