We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Page overview
There are 4 sections on this page.
Selected sites American federal government sources
- FBI Records: The VaultSearchable categories include:
Anti-War; Civil Rights; Gangster Era; Organizations; Organized Crime; Popular Culture; Public Corruption; Unexplained Phenomenon; World War II; Violent Crime. - Foreign Relations of the United Statesvia the US Dep't of State.
Coverage: From 1945 - Foreign Relations of the United Statesvia the University of Wisconsin.
Coverage: 1861 - 1960 - Foreign Relations of the United Statesin print via the UW Library
- Governmentattic.orgFederal documents obtained under the Freedom of Information Act.
- Pentagon PapersFormally titled: Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force, these papers relate to the political and military involvement in Vietnam.
Coverage: 1945 - 1967 - Presidential Recordings Digital Editionfrom Franklin Roosevelt to Donald Trump.
- PAIS InternationalIndexes public and social policy literature on business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences.
Coverage: 1915 - present
Congressional Record
Find the debates of the House of Representatives and the Senate in the Congressional Record. Use the Congressional Session vote chart to match the Congress number with its years. Chart via Indiana University Bloomington.
- Congressional Record (Bound Edition)Coverage: 1873 - 2015
- Congressional Record (101st - present Congress)Coverage: 1989 - present
Other sources for the Congressional Record and its predecessors:
- Annals of Congress (1st to 18th Congress)Coverage: 1789 - 1824
- Register of Debates (18th to the 25th Congress)Coverage: 18th Congress, 2nd Session through the 25th Congress, 1st Session (1824 - 1837).
- Congressional Globe (23rd to 42nd Congress)Coverage: 1833 - 1873
- Congressional Record (43rd to 44th Congress)Coverage: 1873 - 1877
- Congressional Record (43rd to 89th Congress)[microfilm]. Location: Dana Porter Library Micro Area, basement. Call number: US1W A15. Use the scanners in the area to view and download the content you need.
Coverage: 1873 - 1966 - Congressional Record (88th to 101st Congress)[microfilm]. These years are located in the Annex (a storage facility in Guelph). Place a hold through Omni, the Library's catalogue for the sessions/years you need. You can use the scanners in the Dana Porter Library's Micro Area to view and download the content you need.
Coverage: 1964 - 1990
American legislative and court cases
- Nexis UniNews, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present - HeinOnlineArticles on law and legal history, court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from Canadian, U.S. and UK jurisdictions.
Coverage: varies
American government past websites via Wayback Machine
Wayback Machine's summary of the https://www.epa.gov/ page since 1997.