We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Finding a known article
If you know the name of any of their major works (perhaps you found a title from a reference list on a website and want to access that article) you can search for that in the title field of the library's catalogue. It can be helpful to limit the 'Resource Type' to articles.
If you cannot find the article in the catalogue, try searching Google Scholar for the article title. To access materials paid for by the Library, go to Google Scholar, then choose Settings and click 'Library Links.' Search for and select the University of Waterloo Library. This will link your results to our 'Get it at Waterloo' system and allow you to access or request the full text.
-
Google ScholarA search engine covering many disciplines and sources of scholarly literature.
Coverage: varies
Access the full text
Once you search a database you will see one of the following links associated with each result:
- Get it at Waterloo
- Full-Text
Click on one of these options in the database to see if we subscribe to the source. If so, we can provide you with the full article.
Clicking on 
will take you to another page to provide access to that article.
If the full text is available through Waterloo, the Get it at Waterloo button will provide a link to the full text article.
If we don't have it online, the Get it at Waterloo button will provide a link to a request form. Submit the form to have the article emailed to you.
Use interlibrary loan (ILL) to request articles not available from Waterloo
Use interlibrary loan (ILL) if the Library does not have access to the full text of an article you want. The Library will find a copy from another institution and email it to you.
- User ID= WatCard Barcode
- Password = last name in lowercase
- Fill out a blank request form
- Select "email" as your pickup location