Get started - "Crazy Talk" - 19th Century Hysteria to 21st Century Pop Culture - Research guides at University of Waterloo

Introduction

Welcome to the library course page for Thperf 282: Gender and Performance supporting your research on "Crazy Talk" - 19th Century Hysteria to 21st Century Pop Culture.

This page brings together resources useful for finding primary source materials that discuss or depict 19th century views and understandings of hysteria.

Recommended Databases

ARTstor
Collection of images of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative art, design, and various forms of visual culture. Artstor's high-quality collections and key functionality are now on JSTOR.
Coverage: prehistoric - present
ARTstor's software tools allow the viewing and analyzing of images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering both online and offline presentations.
Women's Studies Archive
Find primary sources relating to women’s activism. Featured are female-authored literature and women’s periodicals.
Coverage: 1800s - 2000

Medical Information

PsycINFO
Articles, dissertations and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.
Coverage: 1840 - present
History of Science Technology and Medicine
Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and related historical fields. Coverage: 1975 - present (articles cover earlier time periods - e.g., hysteria in the 19th century). Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.

News & Magazines

Libris Canadiana
Indexes articles from a number of Canadian periodicals of historical significance.
Coverage: 1867 - 1976
Indexed are: Annotated Index to the Canadian Bookman Annotated Index to the Canadian Forum, 1920-1981 Annotated Index to the Canadian Magazine, 1893-1914 Annotated Index to Everywoman's World, 1914-1923 The Financial Post Index, 1907-1948 Index to Maclean's Magazine, 1905-1976 Annotated Index to Massey's Magazine, 1896-1897 Index to the Monetary Times of Canada, 1867-1929 The Rebel, 1917-1920 Index to Saturday Night, 1899-1945 Annotated Index to the University Magazine, 1901-1920
Globe and Mail, Canada's Heritage from 1844 [digital archive]
Search news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Coverage: 1844 - 4 years ago

Ontario Community Newspapers
1800s - 1970s

Canadiana
Find documents from 1st European contact to recent student activism, including items relating to Indigenous-settler relations, cookbooks, women's writings, and more.
Coverage: Pre-1970

Omni: the library catalogue

Omni is the name of our library catalogue and primary search tool. Use it to find books, e-books, journals, articles, and much more. It is an excellent starting point for your research.

Waterloo shares Omni with a consortium of 18 Ontario university libraries. As a UW student, you may borrow print books from all institutions without any restrictions. Within the record for a book, you will see which libraries own copies. To borrow a book from another university, log in and select "Get it from another library."

Omni is also where you'll find rare books and periodicals housed in Special Collections and Archives. To only include archival materials in your results, use the search filter menu to the left of the search results list. Scroll down to the "Waterloo Library" heading and select the filter "Dana Porter Library - Special Collections & Archives."

Your Librarian