Geological Engineering: Databases

Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.

Most of the material identified in the Canadian Research Index corresponds to the "Microlog Collection" located in Dana Porter Library's microform area, 1st (basement) floor. These are filed with call numbers beginning with: CA7.P__. If you cannot find a title, or would like assistance using the micro collection or microscanner, please, just ask Library staff.

Technical and professional interest areas include aerospace, architectural, coastal and ocean, computing, construction, energy, geotechnical, hydraulic, materials, management, professional Issues, structural, transportation, urban planning, and water resources.

Contains interactive demonstrations and animations, virtual labs and simulations, and videos. It covers Mathematics, Engineering, Fluid Dynamics and Solid Mechanics, Thermal-Fluids Engineering.

Materials Science & Engineering Database includes the following databases: Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, and METADEX. It provides content on everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling.

The collections included in SpringerMaterials are: Landolt-Bornstein, Inorganic Solid Phases, MSI Eureka, Polymer Thermodynamics, Substance Profile, Thermophysical Properties.

Contains important information on data-related subjects such as chemical and
laboratory safety, and nomenclature
Available to students, faculty and staff at the University of Waterloo.
Depending on your method of access, you may be asked to authenticate as a
member of the UWaterloo community.

GEOSCAN features records primarily of the Earth Sciences (Geological Survey of Canada publications, National Atlas maps, Topographic maps, Remote sensing publications). It also includes Mining, Materials and Energy, and publications authored by NRCan scientists and specialists.

The Lyell Collection is an online collection of earth science literature comprised of the Geological Society of London's journal titles, Special Publications and key book series. It also includes journals published on behalf of other societies.

MCEER covers the topics of bridges and highways, education, emergency response, geotechnical engineering, hospitals, non-structural components, intelligent and protective systems, public policy, remote sensing, seismology, and social science issues. The disasters it covers are blast, earthquake, fire, hurricane, terrorist attack, tornado, and tsunami.

Note: Access is restricted to current faculty, students and staff of the University. Account registration must be done using your Waterloo email address.