We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Welcome to your in-library session (Oct. 6, 2022)
Today ...
- Learn about the Library
- Find books and articles
What you should bring:
- Laptop/phone/tablet
- Watcard. Use this to borrow print books you find on the library bookshelves
Schedule:
1:00-1:20pm
- Presentation: Finding books
1:20-1:45pm
- Activity: Find a book in the Stacks
1:45-2:20pm
- Presentation: Finding articles
- Activity: Find an article in a Database
Omni, the library catalogue
Omni's advanced search lets you apply filters that suit your research parameters. Limit for example, to: "Waterloo online resources" then enter keywords that describe your topic.
See Book services on how to obtain print materials.
-
Tip sheet (2 pages): Locate a print book; find a study spacePage 1: Go from the catalogue information to the book on the shelf
Page 2: Porter Library has spaces for: silent, quiet, and group study
Dana Porter Library
Dana Porter Library, University of Waterloo main campus, Fall 2020
Library databases
Library databases typically cover publications in broad subject areas like history or political science but there are also databases that focus on narrower topics such as gender studies or social movements. Most of these lead you to literature published by scholars. Still other databases contain collections of primary sources such as newspapers, letters, videos.
You can explore all of these using keywords.
-
Library databases A-Z list of over 400 databasesTry these 2 ways to filter this list:
1. The dropdown by SUBJECT lets you filter for databases relevant to broad academic disciplines.
2. The dropdown by TYPE lets you filter by non-subject parameters such as news sources and other primary source collections.
Acknowledgements
This Course Guide was originally created by Jane Forgay, History Librarian (retired). Our thanks to her for allowing us to use her content.