We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Omni, the library catalogue
Omni's advanced search lets you apply filters that suit your research parameters. Limit for example, to: "Waterloo online resources" then enter keywords that describe your topic.
See Book pick-up and delivery services on how to obtain print materials.
- Tip sheet (2 pages): Locate a print book; find a study spacePage 1: Go from the catalogue information to the book on the shelf
Page 2: Porter Library has spaces for: silent, quiet, and group study
Library databases
Library databases typically cover publications in broad subject areas like religious studies or classical studies. Most of these lead you to literature published by scholars. Still other databases contain collections of primary sources such as original ancient texts, newspapers, letters, and videos.
The Library subscribes to over 400 databases. You can search or browse by the database name or filter by broad subject area (e.g., Classical Studies) or source type (e.g., Primary Sources) using the dropdown menus.
Recommended databases for this course
- JSTORProvides access to back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years) - Project MUSEScholarly journals covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
Coverage: varies - L'Annee PhilologiqueIdentify scholarly articles, books, and book reviews on all aspects of Greek and Roman civilizations.
Coverage: 1924 - present - Gnomon Bibliographic DatabaseArticles, conference papers, essays in collections and dissertations on classical philology, ancient history, and archaeology.
Coverage: 1990 - present - Cambridge Histories OnlineFull text of more than 200 historical works covering a range of events, geographical areas, and topics.
Coverage: 1960 - present - Loeb Classical LibraryOver 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts, with an interface allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
Coverage:Varies