Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Arts 140: Cults of the Ancient World (Fall 2022): Your library connection

Welcome to Arts 140: Cults of the Ancient World

Library, Covid-19, and you

Omni, the library catalogue

Omni's advanced search lets you apply filters that suit your research parameters. Limit for example, to: "Waterloo online resources" then enter keywords that describe your topic.

See Book pick-up and delivery services on how to obtain print materials.

Library databases

Library databases typically cover publications in broad subject areas like religious studies or classical studies. Most of these lead you to literature published by scholars. Still other databases contain collections of primary sources such as original ancient texts, newspapers, letters, and videos.

The Library subscribes to over 400 databases. You can search or browse by the database name or filter by broad subject area (e.g., Classical Studes) or source type (e.g., Primary Sources) using the dropdown menus.

Recommended databases for this course

Get research help

Don't hesitate to contact Michelle Atkin or Sandra Keys, the Librarians for this course, for research help.

Michelle Atkin, Associate Librarian, St. Jerome's Library

Sandra Keys, Religious Studies Librarian, Dana Porter Library

Research guides by subject

Religious Studies Research Guide

Evaluate using RADAR

You can use this "RADAR" guide to help you assess an item's quality and usefulness in your assignment.

RADAR

Relevance: the importance of the information for your needs

  • Does this item support or help advance your work/argument?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Which discipline is this information from?

Authority: the source of your information

  • Who is the creator or author?
  • What are their credentials? Who are they affiliated with?
  • Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?

Date: the timeliness of the information

  • When was the information created?
  • When was the information last updated?
  • Does your topic require recent information?
  • Could this work be used to provide historical context or comparision?

Accuracy: the reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content

  • Does it provide logical analysis?
  • Does it cite quality research and studies?
  • Has this work been peer-reviewed?

How do I know if an article is peer-reviewed?

Ulrichs Web Global Serials Directory can help. Search the name of the journal in the search box. Click on the its entry and discover information about the journal including including whether it contains peer-reviewed articles. Journals that do are referred to as “refereed.”

Reason for writing. Ask the question: is this item meant to inform, educate, persuade, sell something ...?

  • Why has this information been created?
  • What is the purpose of the information?
  • Who has funded this research? What are the aims of the funder?
  • Is the information fact, opinion, propaganda?
  • Is the language or tone unbiased and free from emotion?

Mandalios, Jane. “RADAR: An Approach for Helping Students Evaluate Internet Sources.” Journal of Information Science 39, no. 4 (2013): 470–78. https://doi.org/10.1177/0165551513478889