We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
New Toronto architecture
Image credit: ZAS Architects, Bergeron Centre for Engineering Excellence, 2016, Toronto, ON. Available from: Raysonho, BergeronCentreForEngineeringExcellence19.jpg, November 29, 2015, WikiMedia Commons, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:BergeronCentreForEngineeringExcellence19.jpg. Creative Commons Universal Public Domain Dedication (CC0 1.0), https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en.
Key titles
Historical Atlas of TorontoCall Number: Stacks G1149.T7S1 H39x 2008
Lost Toronto: Images of the City's Past by Call Number: FC3097.7.D46x 1978
Toronto: No Mean CityCall Number: NA747.T6 A86 1986
UTOpia: Towards a New TorontoCall Number: Controlled Access FC3097.3 .U86 2005
Images and information about buildings
Most images fall under copyright protection. Contact the website owner for permission to use them in your thesis or course work.
- Architectural Index for TorontoThis index provides basic information about Toronto buildings, past and present, with reference to books and journal articles in which they appear.
- Canadian Architect Magazine Image Collection, 1955 - 1990This photographic archive is housed in Special Collections, Ryerson University Library, Toronto.
- Kodachrome Toronto, 1935-2010An offshoot of a grad student's thesis, this Flickr site invites contributions from owners of Kodachrome images of Toronto. Contact the owner to use a photo.
- TOBuiltOpen Source database of images and information about buildings and structure in Toronto by the Architectural Conservancy of Ontario (ACO)
Rare Books collection
The Musagetes Rare Books Collection contains many books on Toronto and its neighbourhoods.
Browse these titles in Omni, the library catalogue, by searching for the word "Toronto" and using the search filters on the left side panel to limit your results to only include Waterloo Library: Musagetes Architecture Library, Cambridge. Use the Publication Date filters to further narrow your results to only include older materials in our collection.
You'll discover titles like:
Toronto architects
- Eminent Toronto Architects of the Past: Their Lives and WorksNA746.O5B47x 1983
- Biographical Dictionary of Architects in Canada, 1800-1950Provides biographies for over 2,500 architects and a list of the buildings they designed.
Writing about Toronto
- Christopher HumeHume was the architecture critic and urban issues columnist of the Toronto Star from the early 1980s until his retirement in 2016. He still contributes architectural news and opinion pieces as a freelancer.
- Alex BozikovicThe Globe & Mail's architecture critic profiles leading architects and critiques the country’s most significant architecture.