We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Library-Recommended Information Sources
Staying up-to-date with the latest COVID-19 information is important, but it can also be overwhelming. To help you select reliable media to follow during this time, Library staff have curated a list of their go-to news and data sources.
Disclaimer: This is not an exhaustive list, and there are many other reliable sites that could be used to fill in the gaps. To find credible content, stick to the facts: avoid buzzy headlines and overly-biased articles.
Many media outlets are making their COVID-19/coronavirus content freely-available, however the Library also has subscriptions to most sources. Check Omni, the Library's catalogue, for access to the titles below, or look at the guide on News Sources for more information.
Local - Waterloo Region
- CBC RadioCanadian national public broadcaster. The Morning Show - the Current, now combined with Q - broadcasts 8:37 a.m.-12pm, with Prime Minister's message from 11-11:45am. Condensed version from 9-11pm. Also great coverage on their news and current affairs shows – As It Happens, 6:30-8 p.m., The World At Six, 6-6:30 p.m. and Ontario Today, noon-1 p.m.
For Kitchener-Waterloo, tune in at 89.1. For Toronto, tune in at 99.1. - CBC websiteCanadian national public broadcaster for news and current events. Kitchener-Waterloo website updated for local coverage.
- Region of Waterloo 2019 Novel Coronavius websiteRegion of Waterloo public health website, including number of local positive cases.
Canada
- CBC RadioCanadian national public broadcaster. Broadcasts the Prime Minister’s daily press briefing from 11 a.m.-noon including analysis; broadcasts Ontario Premier's press briefings at about 1-2 p.m.
- CBC WebsiteCanadian national public broadcaster for news and current events.
- CTV NewsCanadian national news coverage.
- Global NewsCanadian national news coverage.
- Globe and MailCanadian-centric newspaper. Some global coverage.
- Government of Canada - CoronavirusLatest public health information on COVID-19, Canada-centric.
International News
For international news sources, refer to the Library's guide on News Sources.
Data Sources, Modelling, and Academic Sources
- Centers for Disease Control and PreventionLatest public health information from US Department of Health and Human Resources.
- Coronavirus COVID-19 Global Cases by the Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE) at Johns Hopkins University (JHU)Interactive map of international coronavirus cases presented by Johns Hopkins.
- COVID19 Ontario Case Count Summary FileThrough 2020, the Government of Ontario has been posting near-daily COVID19 status reports at https://www.ontario.ca/page/2019-novel-coronavirus. Using the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine (https://web.archive.org/), this data has been indexed for improved time-based analysis by researchers, journalists, and the public.
- COVID-evidenceA database of various clinical trials, research from the WHO and recent research created by the University of Basel.
- DimensionsAll COVID-19 related published articles, preprints, datasets and clinical trials from Dimensions in one file, updated daily, and free for anyone to access.
- For command-line users: covid-cliCode repository with some examples: https://github.com/ahmadawais/corona-cli
- IHMEInstitute of Health Modeling and Evaluation at the University of Washington (funded by Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation).
- National Institutes of Health (NIH)The latest research information about COVID-19 from US Department of Health & Human Services.
- Worldometer: COVID-19 CORONAVIRUS PANDEMICRegularly updated data on international coronavirus data. Case graphs, death graphs, cases by country, age, etc. available.
Standards & Guidelines
Some standards publishers are providing open access to standards that could help support COVID-19 response.
- AAMI StandardsStandards from the Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation.
- ASTM StandardsStandards from the American Society for Testing and Materials.
- BSI StandardsStandards from British Standards Institute.
- FAQs on 3D Printing of Medical Devices, Accessories, Components, and Parts During the COVID-19 PandemicFAQs on 3D Printing to support COVID-19 efforts, presented by US Food and Drug Administration (FDA).