We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Feedback
This page is a work in progress. Comments, feedback, and recommendations are welcomed. If you have comments or can recommend additional/alternative sources, please email Tom Harding, Librarian for English Language & Literature.
- Indigenous Research GuideA guide to support uWaterloo researchers and advance decolonization efforts by highlighting Indigenous-related resources.
Web resources
- Indigenous Diversities: Each Nation Is DifferentAn article from ICT news, in which Duane Champagne discusses the diversities of Indigenous nations their implications for understanding Indigenous perspectives.
Terminology
- First Nations Metis and Inuit Indigenous OntologyA working list of Indigenous Names to better reflect how Indigenous peoples currently refer to themselves. Prepared by the Canadian Federation of Library Association Indigenous Matters Committee’s – Red Team-Joint Working Group on Classification and Subject Headings and the National Indigenous Knowledge and Language Alliance (NIKLA).
- Indigenous Terminology GuideA guide defining terms associated with First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples. Includes explanations of how to use terms appropriately and situations in which terms are inappropriate.
Solidarity
- Indigenous Solidarity GuidelinesA list of guidelines to follow when expressing solidarity with Indigenous communities an a way that is both effective and respectful.
Research
- Collaborative Indigenous Research Digital GardenA community archive built for participatory Indigenous research. Examples of methodologies, theories, and approaches bringing together Indigenous methodologies and participatory methodologies can be found here.
- Tips for Reaching Out to Indigenous ScholarsTips for approaching Indigenous scholars in a manner that is respectful of their time, knowledge, and histories.
- What are Indigenous and Western Ways of Knowing?A fact sheet to promote discussion and consideration of Indigenous and Western perspectives.
Reading lists
- Books: First Nations Development InstituteList compiled by staff members of First Nations Development Institute of essential reading for anyone interested in the Native American experience, including works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and more.
- Books to Build On: Indigenous Literatures for LearningLists of works compiled by the University of Calgary to support Indigenous education. Books written for children and youth are included.
- Indigenous Literature LibGuideA Guide compiled by Dalhousie University Libraries providing a useful map tool, anthologies by Indigenous authors, lists of notable Indigenous authors, and other resources.
- Indigenous peoples in Canada reading listThe Indigenous peoples in Canada reading list has been compiled to expand and build upon current understandings of the experiences of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis peoples in Canada.
- Uplift Indigenous VoicesA list of fiction and nonfiction works showcasing Indigenous voices and their role in literature in Canada. Provided by Penguin Random House Canada.
Databases
- America History and LifeIdentifies articles, book reviews, and dissertations on American and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Coverage: mid 1950s - present - Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaIndexes books, articles, and government documents about Indigenous peoples of North America, covering the 1500s to the present.
Coverage: 1500s - present - Canadiana
Find documents from 1st European contact to recent student activism, including items relating to Indigenous-settler relations, cookbooks, women's writings, and more.
Coverage: Pre-1970 - Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
Diaries, letters, and memoirs documenting the relationships among peoples and with the environment.
Coverage: 1534 - 1860 - Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial EncountersThemes include Indigenous peoples, land & property, business, religion, and women's history. Find both primary sources and commentaries relating to the migration of Europeans to Africa, Australasia, and North America.
Coverage: 1650 - 1920 - HathiTrust Digital LibraryAccess millions of titles digitized from academic, research library, and other collections from around the world. These are full text works that are in the public domain and licensed under Creative Commons. They are available for viewing and downloading.
Coverage: varies - Independent Voices: an Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Periodicals by feminists, student radicals, Indigenous peoples, anti-war activists, Black rights advocates, two spirit, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, and asexual (2SLGBTQ+) activists, extreme right-wing press, and more.
Coverage: 1950s - present - Indigenous Collection (Informit)Multidisciplinary topics relating to Indigenous peoples from around the world. Includes journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings.
Coverage: 1920s - present - North American Indian Thought and Culture
Biographies, autobiographies, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories on Indigenous peoples of North America.
Coverage: 17th century - present