German-Canadian Studies: Research Tools

This page contains the following sub-page:

• Reference sources

• Library catalogue, the joint catalogue of Waterloo, Laurier, and Guelph university libraries
• Kitchener Public Library catalogue
• Region of Waterloo Library catalogue, which includes the following branches: Ayr, Baden, Bloomingdale, Elmira, Linwood, New Dundee, New Hamburg, St. Clements, St. Jacobs, and Wellesley
• WorldCat
  Search the libraries in your community and around the world. Specify your location to view items in libraries closest to you.

• Book Review Digest Plus
  Descriptive summaries of books as well as excerpts of book reviews published in the US, Canada, and Great Britain.
• H-Net Book Reviews (in the humanities and social sciences)

• German Studies

Click on the image to search GCO

About GCO

GCO identifies sources relating to the experiences of German speakers and their descendents in Ontario, Canada. The open access bibliography describes materials of historical, literary, cultural, linguistic, and biographical interest. Coverage: circa 1800 to present.

Compilers:
Helena Calogeridis, Librarian for Germanic and Slavic Studies (retired 2017)
Jane Forgay, Librarian for History and Political Science

• America: History and Life
  Includes Canada. Has articles, book reviews, and more.
• BDSL Online
  Covers all aspects of German language and literature.
• Bibliography of the Cultural History of the German-Speaking Communities in Alberta: 1882-2009
  Project of the German-Canadian Association of Alberta. Compiler: Manfred Prokop. Open access database. Includes annotated references to over 6,500 primary and secondary sources in Alberta’s libraries, archives and private collections. The sources range from books and articles to newspapers, artwork, cooking recipes, church records, letters and oral histories.
• CBCA (Canadian Business and Current Affairs)
  Access to Canadian journals, magazines and new resources on all topics.
• Factiva   
  Current and archival news coverage. Selected Canadian titles are: Globe and Mail, Kitchener-Waterloo Record, National Post, Toronto Star, and the Winnipeg Free Press.
• Germanistik Online Datenbank
• Globe and Mail - Canada's Heritage from 1844 (excluding the last 4 years)   
  A digital archive from its beginnings as The Globe in June 1844. Search by date or by keyword for a span of five years.
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
  Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
• MLA International Bibliography
  Offers detailed subject indexing for thousands of publications related to literature, languages, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of these disciplines. Indexes journals, books, theses, conference proceedings, etc.