We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
About Databases
Databases are collections of reliable resources. When you are looking for scholarly sources to use in your research, these databases are the best places to look. The University of Waterloo Library subscribes to over 400 databases, many of which are subject-specific.
Database List
The following databases may be especially useful for your work in the ENGL 208G course.
For your presentation, you will discuss connections between at least two assigned works in Unit 4 and one outside primary source. You must also incorporate, in some way, one outside scholarly source. These databases can help you find films, literature, reviews, and more.
- Academic OneFile
Articles on the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Coverage: 1980 - present - Alternative Press Index (API)Tracks articles and other news pieces published in non-mainstream periodicals from the US and Canada.
Coverage: 1969 - present - Annual Bibliography of English Language and LiteratureCitations to books, journal articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
Coverage: 1920 - present - Book Review Digest PlusFind reviews of books on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources.
Coverage: 1903 - present - Criterion on demand This link opens in a new windowCriterion-on-Demand is an online platform for feature films and
feature length documentaries. It contains programs from producers such as
Paramount, DreamWorks, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, Mongrel Media,
Miramax Films and more. There are a variety of subject areas: Action films,
Animation, Comedy, Literary Adaptations, etc and there are more than 3000
titles available. It also offers some French versions and subtitled versions.
Coverage: Current - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)English and other language books, pamphlets, broadsides and other ephemera published in the United Kingdom and the Americas.
Coverage: 1701 - 1820 - FIAF International Index to Film PeriodicalsIndexes academic and popular film journals and articles.
Coverage: 1972 - present - Film Scripts Online
Film scripts of screenwriters, producers, directors from selected American feature films from 1903 on.
Coverage: Early 20th century - present - JSTOR
Provides access to back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years)
- KanopyKanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform offering classic films, world cinema, documentaries, popular movies, and tv shows.
- Literature Online (LION)Full text journal articles and other criticism and reference resources on works relating to English and American literature, and early Canadian poetry.
Coverage: 8th century - present - Literature Resource CenterBiographical entries, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews of writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. A GALE product.
Coverage: 1750s - present - Literature Resource CenterBiographical entries, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews of writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. A GALE product.
Coverage: 1750s - present - London Review of BooksBook reviews and essays. Includes art and film reviews, poems and letters.
Coverage: 1979 - present - MLA International BibliographyIndexes books, articles, and websites relating to modern languages, literatures, folklore, linguistics, and film.
Coverage: 1926 - present - NFB.ca (National Film Board of Canada)Link to documentaries, animations, experimental films, and fiction produced by the National Film Board of Canada.
Coverage: 1930s - present - Project MUSE
Scholarly journals covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
Coverage: varies - Science Fiction and Fantasy Research DatabaseAn index with some full text covering all aspects of science fiction, fantasy, horror, supernatural and weird fiction. History, criticism, commentary, fan writings and some reviews are all included.
Coverage: 1878 - present