Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this guide
This guide will help students and faculty in the School of Planning navigate the library to meet their learning and research needs by:
- linking to relevant databases to find articles
- providing information about books, print and electronic
- linking to additional resources and collections
- showcasing tools that support academic goals and objectives
Find articles lists databases for specific topics, such as:
- climate change
- urban planners
- healthy cities
- planning theory
A brief overview of databases on:
- how to navigate
- what databases contain
- some of the functions and benefits
Find books provides information on:
- direct link to search the library catalogue
- how can I get my books during COVID-19?
- how can I find my books?
- library catalogue search function
- placing holds and recalls
- not in the catalogue?
- should we order a copy?
- on-campus book return bins locations
- new books
- core texts for the discipline
- eReference material
- eBooks and eBook collections
- questions? Contact me
More resources links to:
- library guides
- subject specific
- topic specific
- for advanced library users
- unique collections
- data; statistics
- Geospatial Centre
- Special Collections & Archives (SC&A)
- Digital library
- Special Collections / Rare books
- publications of selected centres and institutes
- Heritage Resources Centre
- Interdisciplinary Centre on Climate Change (IC3)
- Southwestern Ontario Research Data Centre (SWORDC)
- Water Institute
- Waterloo Institute for Complexity & Innovation (WICI)
- Waterloo Institute for Social Innovation (WISIR)
- Waterloo Institute for Sustainable Energy (WISE)
The Research toolkit provides an overview of the research process and tips to help with:
- academic writing, essays and research papers
- help with references, citing your work
- bibliometric tools
- more than technical skills, soft skills
- time management tips
- the research process
- saving your search strategy
- setting up alerts
- publishing your work?
- need funding?
Library services for Winter 2022
Access to the electronic resources requires your WatIAM credentials. You can login before you start your search from the library's homepage using the 'Get access from anywhere' link, located in the left navigation, or when the system prompts you to enter your credentials. If, for any reason, you encounter any difficulties with gaining access, please contact me directly or library staff through our Ask us service to resolve the issue.
The 2021 Environmental Sustainability Report, prepared by the President's Advisory Committee on Environmental Sustainability
NEW and TRIAL DATABASES
The Europa World Plus is a new addition to our databases webpage.
- Europa World Plus
- Covers political, historical, and economic information on countries, regions, and organizations.
- Coverage: current
For a limited time we have access to the following database as a trial
Current examples of potential research topics:
- conversion of land from natural habitats to urban land use
- creation, use, and preservation of natural spaces and parks
- development of transportation networks and infrastructure
- water and air quality
- political theory and policy analysis
- physical/natural environment
- community sustainability
- urban design
- social and demographic dimensions
- economic development
- regional planning
- heritage and preservation
- environmental planning includes:
- biology and ecology
- water and wetlands
- forests and parks
- planning as a process includes
- select disciplines in geography, social sciences, and pure and applied sciences
- planners help:
- plan and design new communities, and developments within existing communities
- protect the natural environment as well as heritage buildings and neighbourhoods
- improve the existing conditions of urban areas
- create programs and policies that benefit individuals and communities
- assist in the creation, operation, and development of transportation infrastructure and systems - roads, transit, bikes and pedestrian ways - which allow for freight and people movements
- advise city governments and private companies on environmental issues
You can email me with your question(s), or book a consultation. Email questions are answered within1-2 business days. Consultations can be booked up to a month in advance and could be up to an hour in length.
I'm here for you.
My goal is to meet every graduate student in the Faculty of Environment.
Why? Because I can help you:
- navigate databases
- locate items quickly
- create a research strategy
- cite your references
- answer your questions
- and more . . .