Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTS 140 Social Change and Social Development; ARTS 130: Social Justice and Social Development: Research and Resources

This guide is created to help you with your assignments in finding academic and newspaper sources.

What is a research database?

A database is a collection of digital files that have been catalogued and professionally curated to a set of standards and peer-review. Note that Google Scholar for example, is NOT a research database; it is actually a web search engine.

Three common types of research databases, are

  • bibliographic databases, such as the library catalogue;
  • abstract databases (or citation indexes), such as Scopus or Web of Science;
  • and full-text databases, like JSTOR. 

The most common digital items in databases are journal articles, however databases can also be dedicated to newspapers, government documents, and more. Databases are powerful research tools for accessing indexed journal articles and publications from scholars, professionals, and field experts. Choosing the correct database for your search is important, as a database can cover a wide variety of topics from psychology, education, clinical medicine, and more.

Using the Library

Suggested Databases

The following databases are large enough that you will be able to find academic peer reviewed journal articles in the areas of social justice generally.

The following databases will provide more specific content related to only some social justice topics

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Sarah Brown
she/her
Contact:
Dana Porter Library
Main Floor
519-888-4567 ext. 41987

Omni, the Library catalogue (includes 16 Ontario university library collections)

This catalogue search has a wide and deep reach. Use it to find books, scholarly articles, book reviews, and more.

 

Advanced Search