Skip to main content

LIBRARY

Finding Standards & Codes: Waterloo's Online Standards Subscriptions

What they are, how to find them and how to get them

Searching Waterloo's Print Standards Collection

Sometimes the Library has access to individual standards from a collection. You can check the Library catalogue for these titles in print. 

Try some of these tips: 

  • Search by the title of the individual standard.
  • Try a mix of the standard agency/acronym and the word "standard".
  • Search for the standard organization as the publisher.
  • Try a keyword search for the standard number, eg. B123-09.
  • Search for the standards series title.
  • Sometimes the standards are issued in one or more volumes, such as the SAE Handbook, or ACI Manual of Concrete Practice. Check the catalogue for the book, then within the volume for the standard.

 

Standards Waterloo Doesn't Have

Standards are expensive materials to purchase (an average academic book might cost 75¢ per page; a standard might cost $7.70 per page), especially since they are usually only relevant to a small research group. Unfortunately, standards are not easily loaned between libraries either.

We often suggest you or your research group set aside funding to purchase the standard If you are trying to access a standard that the Library does not have access to.  

ASTM Standards

Online

Access current standards through the ASTM Standards website, found through the Library's Research Databases page. 
 

Print

ASTM issues a complete set of their standards annually. Waterloo subscribed to them in print from 1970 until 2008, when we converted to online. Search for print editions in the Library catalogue.  

BSI Standards

Online

Waterloo has access to some BSI standards through the TechStreet database. You can access the TechStreet database from the Research Databases section of the Library website.  TechStreet is set up to show only the standards in our subscription. 

Take a look at the TechStreet page on this guide for more information. 

 

CSA Standards

Online

CSA Standards can be accessed through the TechStreet database. Waterloo Library currently subscribes to the entire suite of CSA Standards, including past versions of standards. You can access the TechStreet database from the Research Databases section of the Library website.  

Take a look at the TechStreet page on this guide for more information. 

 

Print

The Library purchased print copies of CSA standards until the early 2000s. However, since these documents were outdated, we have removed print copies from our collection. 

IEEE Standards

Online

IEEE Standards are accessible through the IEEE Xplore database. Use the Advanced Search feature and limit to "standards" under Content Type. 

 

Print

Print versions of IEEE standards were issued in conjunction with another organization, eg, IEEE-ANSI. Search for older standards in the Library Catalogue, and use "standard" within your search for best results. 

ISO Standards

Online

Waterloo has access to some ISO standards through the TechStreet database. You can access the TechStreet database from the Research Databases section of the Library website. TechStreet is set up to show only the standards in our subscription. 

Take a look at the TechStreet page on this guide for more information. 

 

Print

Some older ISO Standards are accessible through the Library Catalogue. Search for "International Organization for Standardization" as the Author/Creator.