Cite / reference - MMT - Masters of Mathematics for Teachers - Research guides at University of Waterloo

Citation resources for APA style

APA 7th Edition Quick Reference Guide
How to format reference list entries for journal articles, books, and chapters in a book.
APA 7th Edition Reference Examples
Provides detailed examples for citing common and uncommon sources.
APA 7th Edition Tutorials and Webinars
The Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style covers the basics of the seventh edition APA Style.
APA 7th Edition Style Bolg
Search the APA's blog to find answers to specific questions.
APA 6th Edition Resources
For the transition period between the 6th and 7th editions, APA has archived their 6th edition style blog, FAQs, and other resources.

Citation style guides

A citation style guide describes a specific way of citing materials (books, articles, websites, etc.), in your paper. There are many different style guides to choose from. Check with your instructor to see which guide you need to follow.

ACM Style Guide
Includes instructions for preparing manuscripts in Word and LaTex
IEEE Editorial Style Manual
Details on formatting citations can be found in the IEEE Reference Guide PDF
IEEE Computer Society Style Guide
Other Citation Style Guides from the Library
Includes MLA, Chicago, APA, and more.
Style guides from the Writing Centre
Covers the most common styles used across campus: APA, 2 versions of Chicago, IEEE, and MLA.

Search the Library's catalogue to find authoritative manuals on how to cite properly.

Citation management software

Citation management software offers a place to store and organize your citations. Citations can be exported directly from databases or captured from webpages and PDFs. The software also facilitates in text citing and automated bibliography creation in Word and Overleaf.

Zotero
Open source software that offers free accounts and unlimited storage when using your University of Waterloo email address. Links with Overleaf accounts.
Zotero at University of Waterloo
See Waterloo's Zotero guide for more information.

Other citation managers

JabRef
Open source, desktop based software which works well with the LaTeX.
BibDesk
Open source and works well with LaTeX. For use with Mac OS.
Mendeley
This free Elsevier product offers web based and desktop options (premium accounts are available). Links with Overleaf accounts.
Papers
Desktop and web based software for Mac or Windows which allows you to annotate, share, and store.
RefWorks: Get started guide
RefWorks allows users to create their own personal citation database easily and quickly by importing references from text files or online databases. Create an account and learn how to import references from From MathSciNet, Google Scholar and more!