We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
What is a Primary Source?
A primary source is an original object or document concerning the subject matter being studied. For architecture a primary source could be many different things such as architectural drawings, models, photographs, and even the building itself. The term primary source in academia does not mean how important the source is to your research, but how close the source is to the original subject matter.
It is always good to remember that many primary sources will have biases that students should be keep in mind when using them in their research.
Image credit: DRs Kulturarvsprojekt, Film Archive Storage, April 3, 2012, JPEG file. Available from: Flickr Commons, https://www.flickr.com/photos/kulturarvsprojektet/6498619601/. Creative Commons License (CC BY 2.0), https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/. Cropped from original.
Supporting Archival Research
What support does the Architecture Librarian offer?
- Available for research consultations
- Together with you, I'll assist you to:
- identify the appropriate collecting institution
- navigate and search institutional website and online finding aids
- find contact information for booking visits and asking reference questions
- Provide my name as a reference and write letters of introduction if required
What I won't/can't do?
- Do your research for you!
- Arrange for remote access either through reproduction or InterLibrary Loan – NOT POSSIBLE!
- Purchase archival materials
- Negotiate reproduction or licensing fees, copyright or other permissions
- Arrange your visit or put together the list of items you want to consult
- Can’t get you access to materials that are totally restricted or negotiate “better” access
Architecture Primary Sources
Many different kinds of institutions and groups have Archival collections on architects, building history or urban development, photographic collections, and documentation of building, original architectural drawings, et cetera. Please check beforehand what kind of access they are able to offer due to pandemic restrictions.
Universities or other educational institutions
Architecture research institutes/museums
Art and other types of museums
Professional Associations
City/Municipal/Regional/Provincial Archives
Local Historical Societies
Public Libraries
University of Waterloo Special Collections and Archives
Special Collections and Archives (SC&A) at the University of Waterloo holds early editions and rare books, collections of archives and manuscripts, and other material that requires special care and handling because of its early publication date, provenance, physical condition, aesthetic value, or unusual format.
Searching
Search the Archives Database to find archival collections on architecture, including the William Dendy fonds, W.H.E. Schmalz collection, the Architectural Conservancy of Ontario: North Waterloo Region Branch fonds, and the Breithaupt Hewetson Clark collection.
Also, search the the Waterloo Digital Library (WDL), which is an online repository of digitized archival materials used for sharing select items from SC&A.
Using Archives
SC&A is offering limited in-person appointments for current Waterloo students, faculty, and post-doctoral fellows.
Check out SC&A's Archives 101 Guide to learn more about how to do research using archival materials.
See the document below for tips I've developed over decades of research in archives:
More Search Tools
The most difficult aspect of archival research is figuring out which institution or collecting bodies might have what you need. Here are some search tools to help with that:
- ArcheionArcheion brings together information about archives held by organizations all over Ontario. Archeion is a service provided by the Archives Association of Ontario (AAO). Search Archeion to find records of businesses, individuals, families and organizations from all periods of the province's history. The archives described include photographs, diaries, minute books, church registers and municipal records.
- ArchiveGridIncludes over 5 million records describing archival materials, with a focus on Canadian and US collections. With over 1000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
- Archives CanadaAn official archival portal maintained by the Canadian Council of Archives (CCA), and is a joint initiative of CCA, the Provincial and Territorial Archival Networks, and Library and Archives Canada (LAC). It links to all the provincial and territorial networks.
Finding Aids
"Finding aids are documents that contain information about the material that is part of a fonds or a collection. Finding aids are used by researchers to determine if the records in the collection or fonds hold information that is significant to their research."2
Using Finding Aids
- Understanding Finding Aidsby Archives and Special Collections, University of Toronto Scarborough Library
- What are Finding Aids?by Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections, York University Libraries
- How to Read a Finding Aid"Primary Sources in Archives & Special Collections Guide," by University Archives and Special Collections, Purdue Libraries
2. Archives and Special Collections, "Understanding Finding Aids," Archives 101, University of Toronto Scarborough Library, https://utsc.library.utoronto.ca/understanding-finding-aids.