Thesis Research in Architecture: Citation

It is extremely important to cite all references correctly, both within the text of your thesis and Bibliography. As you research, make a list of the exact sources you've consulted:

• Carefully note where you found information or ideas
• Use quotation marks when directly stating another person's words
• Credit original authors for their ideas and statements
• As you will be citing a large number of texts in your thesis, it is recommended you use citation management software

This software saves time by allowing you to:

• search and export citations from library databases and catalogues
• format them in the citation style of your choice
• organize, edit and annotate citations you have collected
• insert in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies into your Word and Google document
• share your citations and collaborate with colleagues

Zotero is a tool that collects, manages, and cites the sources you find during your research. In addition to saving a citation, you can add notes and images in your Zotero library, and in many cases, automatically download PDFs.

Using Zotero, you can:

• Create and organize a personal database of references
• Import references automatically from many websites, library databases, and Omni, the library catalogue
• Insert fully formatted notes and bibliography entries directly into your papers
• Collaborate with co-authors across institutions

Zotero is free, open-source software, but the Library's subscription to Zotero means when you sign up using your @uwaterloo.ca email address, you will automatically receive unlimited storage!

For help with Zotero:

• Check out the Zotero at University of Waterloo Guide
• Email one of our Zotero librarians
• Contact the Architecture Librarian

Chicago style using the Notes and Bibliography system is preferred citation style for writers in the humanities, including literature, history, arts, and at the Waterloo School of Architecture.

Including citation information in both notes and a Bibliography may seem to duplicate work, but notes provide:  

• Space for unusual types of sources.
• Opportunity for commentary on the sources cited, background information, and additional author comments.
• Uninterrupted flow of reading compared to lengthy in-text citations.

Chapter 13: Source Citations:Overview gives an introduction to the basic rules of Chicago Style Citation.

Chapter 14: Source Citations: Examples gives detailed instructions and examples for citing different types of sources.

See the Citation Quick Guide which has sample notes and bibliography entries for the most common source formats.

If you would like to learn more about citation for your thesis, please complete this online Chicago Style: Notes And Bibliography workshop.

It has lessons on formatting, style, foot/endnote citations, and Bibliography citations and includes short quizzes to assess your learning along the way.