We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
About This Page
This page provides links to useful resources for locating primary sources in theatre history.
Resources are listed under the following categories:
Amerian
Ancient Greek
Canadian
Early English
18th & 19th C. English
Italian Renaissance
General Resources
- National Theatre UKSee the "Discover" link to learn more about the theatre online and to access the NT archives.
American Theatre
Star Theatre, New York City, 1900
Source: New York Public Library Digital Gallery, 809929, Public Domain.
- Historic Theater Posters"This database of late-nineteenth and early twentieth-century theatre posters represents a small portion of the holdings at the State Historical Society of Wisconsin, located on the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus. Sample posters were selected based on quality of their condition and the range of theatrical styles they advertise, from minstrel shows to Broadway premieres."
Ancient Greek Theatre
Ancient Theatre of Delphi
Source: Kolossus under CC BY-SA 2.5, Wikimedia Commons.
- DidaskaliaDidaskalia is an electronic journal and resource dedicated to the study of ancient Greek and Roman drama in performance.
Canadian Theatre
Grand Opera House and Majestic Theatre, Adelaide Street, Toronto, 1904
Source: Image in the Public Domain
- Canadian Adaptations of Shakespeare Project"CASP is the first research project of its kind devoted to the systematic exploration and documentation of the ways in which Shakespeare has been adapted into a national, multicultural theatrical practice."
- L. W. Conolly Theatre Archive at Guelph UniversityLinks to other useful Canadian theatre resources.
Early English Theatre
Globe Theatre, London, England
Source: Tohma (CC BY SA 4.0), Wikimedia Commons.
- Internet Shakespeare EditionsSite includes "Shakespeare-related resources, including fully annotated texts of his plays and poems, exciting multimedia materials and records of his plays in performance, and thousands of searchable pages devoted to the history, arts, politics, society, and stage of Shakespeare's world, as well as biographical details of his life."
- Folger Shakespeare LibraryIncludes an extensive digital collection of documents.
Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century English Theatre
- L. W. Conolly Theatre Archive at Guelph UniversityIncludes papers related to Edmund Kean and David Garrick.
- Folger Shakespeare Library(especially David Garrick)
Italian Renaissance Theatre
Japanese Theatre
The July 1858 production of Shibaraku at the Ichimura-za theater in Edo. Triptych woodblock print by Utagawa Toyokuni III.
Source: 三代目歌川豐國 / Toyokuni Utagawa III, Public Domain, Wikimedia Commons.