Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fine Arts: Reference

This subject guide describes the University of Waterloo Library's resources and services that support research in Fine Arts

Specialized Resources

The Oxford dictionary of American art and artists
UW Porter Reference N6505 .M59 2007

Dictionary of contemporary American artists
Porter. Reference Collection. Main Floor N6536 .C8 1994

dictionary of modern design

Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture

HarperCollins Dictionary of Art Terms and Techniques
Ref N33.M3x 1991

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names

Getty Art & Architecture Thesaurus

Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art

Guide to the literature of art history 2
UW Porter. Reference Collection. Main Floor (NonCirculating) (N380 .A67x 200

Symbols and Symbolism

Symbols: Encyclopedia of western signs and ideograms

Penguin dictionary of symbols 
UW Musagetes Architecture Book stacks (Cambridge)
GR931 .D5213 1996

Dictionary of symbolism
University of Waterloo Library St. Jerome's (UW). Reference Area (Main Floor) (AZ108.B5313 1994

Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art
Porter. Reference Collection. Main Floor (NonCirculating) (N7560.H34 1974b 

Online Reference Works for Fine Arts

Recommended Print Resources

The Waterloo Reference collection is located in the Dana Porter Library, on the Main Floor.  Reference books can be taken out for 3 days, or longer by request.

Grove Dictionary of Art
Ref N31.D5 Porter
34 volume set

Contemporary Artists
Ref N6350.C65x Porter
3 volume set; contains articles on all aspect of Greek and Roman civilization. Includes bibliographies and a chronological table

Art Now
Ref N6490.4 .A37 Porter
3 volume set; international contemporary art

Encyclopedia of World Art
Ref N31.E533 Porter
17 volume set

Dictionary of Art
Ref N31.D5 1996
34 volume set