We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Library support for systematic/scoping reviews
- Systematic and Scoping Review Workshop SeriesThis website outlines the workshop series offered by University of Waterloo Librarians. View workshop dates and access workshop presentations and handouts
- Systematic review supportOverview of the types of UW Library support for systematic/scoping review projects
- Consultation checklistComplete form before meeting with librarian
Interactive Module on Systematic Searching
This interactive module will help you to understand the components of a systematic search for a focused research question. Work through the worksheet activities to build a systematic search strategy on your own research topic.
Search help
- Covidence screening outlineScreening steps and PRISMA flowchart
- Database selection toolRecommended databases for health and related discplines
Search filters on wide range of topics
- U Alberta search filtersStudy design, geographic, indigeneous peoples, socioeconomic factors, specific conditions, health facilities, environment, climate change,
- PubMed Special Queriessubjects include health disparities, dietary supplements, health literacy, population health and more
- CADTH search filters databasestudy design, guidelines, economics, quality of life
- ISSG search filtersStudy design, age, animal studies, geographic, health equity, primary care, population groups, quality improvement, health apps
- U Texas, School Public Health search filtersstudy design, program evaluation, guidelines, qualitative research, vaccines
- McMaster HIRU search hedgesfocus on clinical study design, economics
- searchRxiva database containing published search strategies
- SDG Search Queries - Aurora NetworkSearch Queries for "Mapping Research Output to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)"
Additional help resources
- Systematic reviews: The processDuke University Medical Center Library
- Systematic reviewsUniversity of Western Ontario Library guide
- Systematic reviews- searching the literatureUniversity of Alberta Library guide
- Systematic Review ResourcesU of Texas Health Science Center
How do I conduct a....?
The guides listed below provide researchers with a comprehensive overview of the systematic review process.
- Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of InterventionsCochrane Handbook, Version 6.4, 2023, provides methodological guidance on conducting systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and overviews of reviews.
- Cochrane: Systematic Reviews of Health Promotion and Public Health InterventionsCochrane document outlining guidelines for conducting and reporting Cochrane systematic reviews in public health, 2007.
- Finding What Works in Health Care: Standards for Systematic ReviewsInstitute of Medicine.((U.S.) recommends 21 standards for developing high quality systematic reviews. 2011
- Guidelines for Undertaking Systematic ReviewsCentre for Reviews and Dissemination (published 2009)
- PRISMA Reporting Guidelines (2020 update)Guidelines outlining reporting standards for systematic reviews.
- PROSPERO: international registry of systematic reviewsProtocol registry for systematic reviews. Does not accept scoping reviews or literature reviews. Research topic must be health or social care related.
- Systematic Reviews and Meta Analysis: Online courseOnline course from the Campbell Collaboration and the Open learning Initiative. This course is free during the pilot phase
Meta-analysis resources
- Systematic reviews in health care : meta-analysis in contextPrint book. 2nd ed. BMJ 2001. Located in Davis Centre Library book stacks R853 S94 2001
- PRISMA ScR checklistReporting standards (followed by most academic journals)
- Scoping Reviews - Library GuideUniversity of South Australia
- Scoping reviews: what they are and how you can do themCochrane training webinar, 2017
Key methods papers
- Doing a literature review in health and social care : a practical guideONLINE BOOK: 2nd edition, McGraw Hill, 2010.
PRINT BOOK located in Davis Centre Library book stacks, RA440.85 A94x 2010.
Rapid reviews
- Rapid Review: NCCMT GuidebookNational Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools guidebook for conducting rapid reviews on public health research
- Rapid reviews to strengthen health policy and systems: a practical guideWorld Health Organization, 2017.
Realist Reviews
- Realist Review: Realist and Meta-narrative Evidence Syntheses (RAMESES) - Wong et alincludes information and training materials for realist reviews, syntheses, meta narrative reviews and realist evaluation
Overview of Reviews (Umbrella reviews)
Articles discussing review types:
Systematic review management software
- Covidence - a systematic review software toolWeb-based software to support systematic screening and data abstraction for systematic and scoping reviews. Free for Waterloo students, faculty and researchers.
- DistillerUseful for large research teams conducting systematic reviews. Student pricing available
- RayyanA free web-tool designed to manage the stages of systematic reviews and other knowledge synthesis projects.
How do I find published systematic reviews?
Search these resources to find a systematic review written on a topic.
- Cochrane LibrarySystematic reviews of health care interventions.
- Campbell Collaboration online librarySystematic reviews focusing on social and economic change
- Health Evidence.caA searchable online registry of systematic reviews of public health and health promotion interventions.
- EpistemonikosSystematic review database
- CADTH ReportsCanadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) reports include rapid reviews, HTA
- AHRQ Research Findings & ReportsAgency for Healthcare Research and Quality publications include evidence based reports and technology assessments