Research guides: Sexuality, Marriage, and Family Studies: Find Articles

Open Access Journals in Sociology and Legal Studies

“Open Access” is the term used to describe scholarly literature available online free of charge. Below are links to lists of open access journals in the areas of legal studies and sociology. For more informaiton on the open access movement, see the Library's Open Access guide.

Popular Databases for SMF Research

Family and Society Studies Worldwide
Research, policy, and practice literature relating to family studies, human ecology, and human development.
Coverage: 1970s - present
Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
PsycINFO
Articles, dissertations and book chapters in psychology and behavioral health.
Coverage: 1840 - present
Sociological Abstracts
Articles, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.
Coverage: 1952 - present

Below are some of the recommended databases for SMF research. If you have any suggestions for this list please contact Michelle Atkin.

LGBTQ+ Source
Index plus some full text of LGBT journals
Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from international journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
JSTOR
Scopus