Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sexuality, Marriage, and Family Studies: Ebook Collections

About this Page

The Library subscribes to many collections of electronic books, including publishers' collections and collaborative initiatives.

Subject Specific Guides

To find books by subject area, check the guide in your area of interest.

Free Ebooks

Multidisciplinary

Cambridge University Press 
Cambridge University Press titles published 1995 - 2011. On the Scholars Portal platform, select this collection from the drop down menu. Also available on the ebrary platform.

Canadian Electronic Library - Publishers Collection
Over 60 Canadian publishers. From the Scholars Portal platform, select this collection from the drop down menu. Also available on the ebrary platform.

Duke University Press
Scholarly titles in the Social Science & Humanities. From the Scholars Portal platform, select this collection from the drop down menu. Also available on the HighWire Press platform.  

HathiTrust Digital Library 
Provided through a collaboration of research libraries; Waterloo has access to the portion of the collection that is in the public domain. Items under copyright are available for limited view only (i.e. catalogue record and full text searching). Check a book's record for the access and use statement that applies to the book; Partnership (which we don't have) is required to download even the titles available in full view.

Oxford University Press  
A selection of Oxford University Press e-book titles. On the Scholars Portal platform, select Oxford University Press from the drop down menu. Also available on the ebrary platform.

Safari Tech
Access to a subset of this collection of more than 19,782 technology, digital media, and business books and videos.

Springer eBooks
Books and book series in all fields, including science, technology, medicine, available on the SpringerLink platform; also available on the Scholars Portal platform.


Taylor & Francis Group
11,697 titles published between 1933 and 2008.

University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO)
We have access to a subset of UPSO titles. When uploads are completed UPSO titles accessible to UWaterloo will include over 2,600 books from ten university presses.

Humanities

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) 
HEB
includes more than 3,700 books and series in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars. Approximately 500 titles added annually.

Brill Ebooks - Classical Studies 
24 titles published in 2010.

MITCogNet
Brain and cognitive science: artificial intelligence, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, philosophy and education

Social & Behavioral Sciences

Canadian Electronic Library - Public Policy Collection 
Monographs from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, unversity research centres , etc. From the Scholars Portal platform, select this collection from the drop down menu. Also available on the ebrary platform.

MITCogNet
Brain and cognitive science: artificial intelligence, linguistics, neuroscience, psychology, philosophy and education

PsycBOOKS
Books published by the American Psychological Association and classic books from other publishers; 2,000+ scholarly psychology e-books, 1950-present; updated monthly. Also available on the Scholars Portal platform -- select PsycBOOKS from the drop down menu.