Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biomedical Engineering: Research Databases

What is a research database?

A database is a collection of digital materials that have been catalogued and professionally curated to a set of standards and peer-review. Note that Google Scholar for example, is NOT a research database; it is actually a web search engine.

Three common types of research databases, are

  • bibliographic databases, such as the library catalogue;
  • abstract databases (or citation indexes), such as Scopus or Web of Science;
  • and full-text databases, like Medline or Embase. 

The most common digital items in databases are journal articles, however databases can also be dedicated to theses, patents, and more. Databases are powerful research tools for accessing indexed journal articles and publications from scholars, professionals, and field experts. Choosing the correct database for your search is important, as a database can cover a wide variety of topics from psychology, education, clinical medicine, and more.

Key databases

Databases contain articles, conference proceedings, and reviews: they are great places to get started on your research!

The Library subscribes to many databases to give you access to academic articles you won't be able to find freely available online.
 

Top Resources for Biomedical Engineering

General Resources 

Health & Biomedical Resources

News Sources & Business Reports

Accessing articles

Many databases have a GetIt!@Waterloo button beside each abstract.

Get it at Waterloo image identifier

If the Library subscribes to that journal online, this link can be a quick way to connect to the article.


Need more help? Email me, or Book a virtual meeting with me on Microsoft Teams

When to use a citation index

Articles that cite your article can be relevant to your research. Discover how a known idea or innovation has been confirmed, applied, improved, extended, or corrected.  Databases that include citation searching are: