We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!
Find Articles and Journals
- BioOne CompleteSearch more than 200 leading titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- Springer Nature ExperimentsLife and biomedical sciences laboratory protocols and methods
- PubMedThe premier health and medicine electronic database for peer reviewed journal articles
- Web of ScienceA collection of literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts & humanities. A great tool for cited reference searching
- BioRxivArchives and distributes unpublished preprints by authors seeking to make their research immediately available for feedback before journal submission.
- ScopusThe largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature. Contains scientific journals, books, conference proceedings.
- Annual ReviewsAnnual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.
eBooks
- Colloquium Digital Library of Life SciencesProminent researchers synthesize and analyze research or development on a topic.
- E-Books @ Scholars PortalCollection of online books on a variety of topics. Check the 'show only content I can access' box to limit to University of Waterloo books only.
- Springer eBooksA complete collection of science and engineering ebooks published by Springer.
- Theses & dissertationsA listing and access point for theses and dissertation resources, including UWSpace, ProQuest Theses and Dissertations Database (PQTD), and others.
Encyclopedias and Atlases
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences by ISBN: 9780470015902Publication Date: 2005-09-09A fully searchable encyclopedia of articles by scientists and scientific historians in the fields of biochemistry and physiology, cell biology, developmental biology, ecology, evoluation, genetics, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, microbiology and virology, plant science, structural biology, and science and society.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the History of American Science, Medicine, and Technology by ISBN: 0199766665Publication Date: 2014-10-28
Specialized
Functional Ultrastructure by ISBN: 9783709118290Publication Date: 2015-06-01This atlas provides a detailed insight into the complex structure and organization of cells and tissues, and highlights their specific functions as well as the dynamics of diverse intracellular processes.
Find information on a gene or sequence
- PubMedSearch the PubMed database of biomedical literature with the gene name, symbol or sequence accession number. Often more relevant result may be found by searching the GENE database.
- GENE [NCBI database]Gene integrates information from a wide range of species. A record may include nomenclature, Reference Sequences (RefSeqs), maps, pathways, variations, phenotypes, and links to genome-, phenotype-, and locus-specific resources worldwide.
- BLAST [NCBI programs suite]Basic Local Alignment Search Tool: BLAST finds regions of similarity between biological sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance.
Introductions and Help
- Gene HelpHelp manual to the Gene database from NCBI listed above
- Searching PubMed for gene and sequence informationA "how to" guide to help you with finding published information using, gene names, gene product names, gene symbols, gene sequence accession number, nucleotide sequence or protein sequence.
- BLAST: Homepage and search helpIntroducing the BLAST homepage and form elements/functions of selected search pages
Find theses and dissertations
- Theses and DissertationsFind theses and dissertations from the University of Waterloo, and from other institutions all over the world.