Research guides: Living Architecture Systems: Find articles

Key databases for this assignment

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Citations to periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture.
Coverage: 1930's - present
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals provides citations to more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. File sources include The Getty Information Institute (GII) and the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia.
CumInCAD: Cumulative Index of Computer Aided Architectural Design
Cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design.
Coverage: varies
CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 8,000 articles from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures, DDSS and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts, in PDF, of some 5,400 papers are also available.

Note: Access to CumInCAD is available on or off campus via remote access after logging in via the Get access from anywhere proxy server. Each user must create an individual log on to access the full text readings.
JSTOR
Provides access to back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years)
Web of Science
Articles and citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage: Varies
Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.

Fine arts databases

Art Full Text
Articles on art, art history, advertising art, painting, graphic design, architecture, and museum studies.
Coverage: Indexing/abstract from 1929. Full Text 1995 - present
Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, this database indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Coverage: 1974 - present
Scope begins with 19th century art movements and covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
International Bibliography of Art
Articles, monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues relating to the history of art.
Coverage: 2008 - present

Google search tips

Both Google and Google Scholar have advanced search options. Check this list of of all 42 advanced search operators to optimize your searches.

Here is a list some of my favourite advanced search operators:

site: limit results to those from a specific website, e.g. site:gov.ca university
– excludes a term or phrase, e.g. jobs –apple
AROUND(X) is a proximity operator which finds webpages containing 2 words or phrases within X words of each other, e.g. apple AROUND(4) iphone
- the words “apple” and “iphone” must be present and no further than 4 words apart
map: forces Google to show map results for a locational search, eg. map:toronto
- you can also combine this with search terms, eg. map:toronto architecture

CumInCAD Keywords

Unlike Avery Index, CumInCAD does not have traditional subject headings. It does have keywords you can search.

actuators	“dissipative methods”	“regenerative design”
“artificial intelligence”	“emerging technologies”	“responsive systems”
“artificial nature”	eskin	sensors
“art and technology”	“generative design”	“shape form and geometry”
“automated workflows”	“interactive art”	“signal flows”
bees	“Living Architecture Systems Group”	STEAM
“bioengineered systems”	metabolism	“synthetic biology”
biodigital	neuroscience	“synthetic cognition”
bioinspiration	“new media art”	technology
biology	organicism	“transformative hybrids”
biomanufacturing	“robotic materials”	“virtual design”
bioprinting	robotics	“virtual projections”
“digital art”

Research guides by subject

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!

Architecture and biology.	Building materials -- Research.	Neural networks (Computer science).
Architecture and biology -- Theory.	Buildings -- Environmental aspects.	Organic architecture
Architecture and biology -- 21st century.	Buildings -- Environmental aspects -- Research.	Organic architecture -- Theory.
Architecture -- Environmental aspects -- 21st century.	City planning and technology.	Protocells.
Architecture and technology.	Computational design.	Robotics.
Architecture and technology -- 21st century.	Computer-aided design.	Sustainable design.
Artificial intelligence.	Design and technology.	Synthetic biology.
Automation.	Digital imaging.	Thermodynamics.
Autonomous robots.	Fabrication.	Three-dimensional printing.
Beesley, Philip.	Information visualization.	Visualization.
Building materials -- Environmental aspects.	Landscape architecture and technology.

Living Architecture Systems: Find articles

Key databases for this assignment

Fine arts databases

Google search tips

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals Subject Headings

Subject searching in Avery Index

CumInCAD Keywords