Research guides: Ecological Research for Landscape Architecture: Find Articles and Websites

Databases

Multi-disciplinary databases

Scopus
Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present
JSTOR
Provides access to back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years)
Academic OneFile
Articles on the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Coverage: 1980 - present
Web of Science
Articles and citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage: Varies
Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.

Subject focused databases

AGRIS
Bibliography and some full text of articles, monographs, book chapters, and grey literature including science and technical reports, theses, dissertations and conference papers.
Coverage: 1974 - present
via Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
American Geophysical Union (AGU) Digital Library
Research journals from the American Geophysical Union. Focuses on the Earth and environment.
Coverage: varies
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Citations to periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture.
Coverage: 1930's - present
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals provides citations to more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. File sources include The Getty Information Institute (GII) and the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia.
BioOne
Indexes scholarly journals in the fields of biological, ecological and environmental science.
Coverage: Most 2001 - present
BioOne provides a unique aggregation of titles that are produced by societies and non-commercial publishers. Major areas of coverage include: entomology, crustaceans, ecology, botany, ferns, lichen, ornithology, mosses, reptiles, and microbiology.
Birds of the World
Comprehensive life histories for all bird species and families.
Coverage: Created by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, Birds of the World (BOW) content was amassed from four major works: _Birds of North America, The Handbook of Birds of the World, Neotropical Birds,_ and_ _ Bird Families of the World. Included is the Macaulay Library, which contains the world’s largest collection of animal sounds as well as a rapidly growing photo and video library of animal behavior.
Canadian Research Index
Indexes and, in many cases, provides links to Canadian government documents from federal and provincial departments and agencies.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Most of the material identified in the Canadian Research Index corresponds to the "Microlog Collection" located in Dana Porter Library's microform area, 1st (basement) floor. These are filed with call numbers beginning with: CA7.P__. If you cannot find a title, or would like assistance using the micro collection or microscanner, please, just ask Library staff.
Climate Atlas of Canada
Combines climate science, mapping, and storytelling together with Indigenous Knowledges and community-based research and video.
GEOSCAN
Bibliographic database for scientific publications of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan).
Coverage: pre-confederation to present
GEOSCAN features records primarily of the Earth Sciences (Geological Survey of Canada publications, National Atlas maps, Topographic maps, Remote sensing publications). It also includes Mining, Materials and Energy, and publications authored by NRCan scientists and specialists.
Iportal: Indigenous Studies Portal
Articles, theses, photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. Focusing on Indigenous peoples in Canada and the United States.
Coverage: varies
Native Land Digital
An app to help map Indigenous territories, treaties, and languages. It is Indigenous-led.
PubMed
Articles in medicine, life sciences, animal sciences, plant sciences, biomedical research, medical devices, nursing, biotechnology, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences.
Coverage: 1950 - present
PubMed is comprised of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Scholars GeoPortal
Get access to visualizing and downloading geospatial data, including land-based vector data, census geography, orthophotography, and more.
Coverage: Varies
Scholars GeoPortal is an Ontario Council of Univerity Libraries (OCUL) initiative that provides affiliated members with online access to visualizing and downloading geospatial data. It includes land-based vector data (water, cultural features, etc.), census geography, orthophotography, and more! Waterloo faculty and students may access most of the provincial and national level data currently available from Waterloo Library's Geospatial Centre through the portal. An easy to use platform for academic purposes only.
Waterloo Region Record
Search for current Kitchener, Waterloo, Cambridge and area news, as well as world news, editorials, and letters to the editor.
Coverage: October 1, 1990 - present
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.

Web Resources

Grand River Conservation Authority: Our Watershed
The Grand River Conservation Authority's website provides information on dams, fisheries, flooding, Heritage designations, stewardship, forests, water, and more.
City of Cambridge
Find information on current and past city projects, environmental assessments commissioned by the city, council meeting minutes, and advisory committee information.
more...less...
Make sure to use the search bar at the top of the page
Six Nations of the Grand River
Review news items and key issues of importance to the Six Nations of the Grand River.
Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation
Learn about the culture and history of the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation.
Birding Hotspots
Find out which bird species local birdwatchers find in your area.
Cambridge Today
Search local news stories.
Environment and Climate Change Canada
Find government reports and information on climate, wildlife, plant species, environmental conservation, and more.

Google Scholar

Connect Google Scholar to the library catalogue to access paywalled content and see what articles are also in the library!

If you're on a campus connection, Google Scholar should automatically connect to the library.

If you're off campus, you will have to manually connect Google Scholar to the UW library.

Add Get it at Waterloo to Google Scholar
This infographic walks you through how to connect Google Scholar to the library catalogue.

Research guides by subject

We want to hear from you. You're viewing the newest version of the Library's website. Please send us your feedback!