Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY

Calculate Your Academic Footprint: Find Publications (Steps 1-2)

Tip!

Sometimes it is easier to begin the process with a paper list of your articles.  This will allow you to make notes and keep track of what steps have been accomplished for each article.

Step 1: Create Master List Folders

Create Master List Folders for your publications using reference management software (such as RefWorks)

Begin by setting up a RefWorks account.

Once you are signed into RefWorks, create a series of Master List folders under the Organize & Share Folders tab using the New Folder button at the top of the page, below the main navigation menu.

Master list folders in RefWorks. Folder titles described in text following the image. 

Use the following title structure to organize your Master List folders:

  • Master List - Articles - 1st Author
  • Master List - Articles - Co-author
  • Master List - Books and Book Chapters
  • Master List - Conference Proceedings
  • Master List - Other

Organizing your publications in this way is key to the process offered by this guide!

NOTE

  • The Master List - Other folder can be used for government reports, white papers, theses, dissertations, audio-visual modules, patents, submissions to royal commissions etc.
  • You may want to separate some of these as individual folders. For example, a Patents folder may be relevant in one field of research but not in another.  Posters could also be a separate folder.

Steps 2.0 & 2.1: Find Your Publications

Step 2: Identify databases containing your publications that have citation-indexing functionality

Examples include:

  • Web of Science, Scopus, Google Scholar
  • IEEE Xplore, SPIE, SciFinder, AnthroSource
  • ProQuest: Social Services Abstracts and other ProQuest databases

Access the above tools by searching the Library's Databases by subject.

Step 2.1: Find your publications within each selected database

To locate your publications, you can search one article at a time OR you can capture all your publications in one search.

  • For example, you can look for an author search/author finder option in the database. Enter your name as the database instructs (e.g. MacDonald M*). Use refinement options to narrow search, complete search and review results.

If you have a very common name OR are not listed, you can proceed with one of these options:

  • Search for your last name and each article title, OR your name and a specific topic(s). For example: MacDonald M* AND midwifery
     
  • Find your profile or register yourself in the researcher index associated with the database (see the Author Profiles Tab of this guide).
     
  • If you are not finding a particular article, or publications such as book chapters, try using Web of Science's Cited Reference Search tab OR Scopus' Secondary Documents link. 

Steps 2.2 & 2.3: Add Your Publications to RefWorks

Step 2.2: Export your publications' bibliographic information to RefWorks


Scopus

  1. Select the citations you want to export by clicking the checkboxes to the left of the document titles.

  2. Select Export from the top menu bar and choose ExLibris RefWorks from the Export document settings pop-up window, then click Export.

    In Export document settings window, under Select your method of export, ExLibris RefWorks is second option
     
  3. Follow the prompts to access your RefWorks account.

Once you have completed this process, RefWorks export will appear on the top menu bar.


Web of Science

  1. Select the citations you want to export by clicking the checkboxes to the left of the document titles.

  2. Select the Export button located at the top of the results list and choose RefWorks from the drop-down menu.

     Export button, located after the Select Page checkbox. Export drop-down menu is open and RefWorks is 7th option

  3. Follow the prompts to access your RefWorks account.

Once you have completed this process, an Export to RefWorks button will appear at the top of the results list.


Google Scholar

  1. In Google Scholar, click on the three stacked lines in the top left corner of your screen to reveal the side menu, and click on Settings. In the Settings: Search results window, under the Bibliography manager heading, select the Show links to import citations into option and choose RefWorks from the drop-down menu.

    Side menu in Google Scholar. Settings is 6 options down.      RefWorks option selected under Bibliography manager heading in Google Scholar
     
  2. Return to the search window and search by your name and publication title. When you've found the correct result, look for the Cited by link located under the description of the work. Two links to the right of this, you will see the Import to RefWorks link. Click on that link and follow the prompts to access your RefWorks account.

NOTE

You can use Zotero for importing multiple records from Google Scholar to RefWorks.

Be sure to always review the results to determine if you want to include all that Google Scholar has captured! As Google Scholar includes information such as posters, trade magazines, non peer-reviewed journals, association sponsored research papers, government docs, fact files, and company reports that cite your work, you need to determine if this information is relevant.
 

Step 2.3: Sort and place your publications into the correct Master List Folder!

Troubleshooting RefWorks

  • If you are having problems importing citations into RefWorks, try switching browsers (e.g. from Internet Explorer to Firefox, or vice versa)
  • For more information on RefWorks, see the Library's Guide to RefWorks (classic)
  • For more support, contact the Library's Ask Us service (see below)

Submit questions, problems, and feedback to library staff

Link to Ask Us service