Research guides: Chemistry: Find literature

Databases containing journal articles on chemistry and related topics

Web of Science
Articles and citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage: Varies
Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.
PubMed
Articles in medicine, life sciences, animal sciences, plant sciences, biomedical research, medical devices, nursing, biotechnology, the healthcare system, and the preclinical sciences.
Coverage: 1950 - present
PubMed is comprised of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Scopus
Peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Reaxys
Authoritative information in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry.
Coverage: 1779 - present

ChemRxiv
Provides preliminary reports which have not been peer-reviewed.
- They should not be regarded as conclusive, guide clinical practice/health related behaviour, or be reported in news media as established information.

SciFinder-n
Provides chemical information including physical and chemical properties, reactions, and patents.
Coverage: 1907 to present
Note: Access is restricted to current faculty, students and staff of the University. Account registration must be done using your Waterloo email address.