Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To find e-books, search the library's catalogue and narrow results to those available online, or search one of our e-book collections. If you want to use an e-book while off campus, you must connect to get access from anywhere first.
Use interlibrary loan to request books not available from Waterloo
Use interlibrary loan if you cannot find the book you want in the Library's catalogue. The Library will borrow it from another institution, usually at no cost to you.
- User ID= WatCard Barcode
- Password = last name in lowercase
- Fill out a blank request form
- Select "email" as your pickup location
- Usually no cost. If there is a cost, you will be contacted before the order is finalized
Suggestions for new library acquisitions are welcomed. If you would like to suggest a book to purchase, please complete this library purchase request.
Taylor and Francis
Mainly computer science and technical topics, some mathematical. This collection was formerly known as CRCNetBase. Has full-text access to theories, equations, analytical methods, and more.
Reference books and databases from more than 30 Sci-Tech publishers and professional societies.
Mainly computer science and technical topics, some mathematical. Published by ACM in collaboration with Morgan & Claypool Publishers. Search for a title or choose 'ACM Books' under 'Browse the ACM Publications'.
O'Reilly Online (was SafariTech)
At first access, you may be asked to select your institution. Please select 'Not Listed' from the drop down. You will then be able to log in using your Waterloo email address.
**You must log in with your UW email address at all times, but you do not need to create account.** If you choose to create an account, you will then always have to login with that account (both on campus and through "anywhere" access).
Includes books and videos on technology, digital media, and business.
Scholars Portal Ebooks
Includes topics in mathematics, computer science, and more from a number of publishers such as Cambridge, Canadian Publishers Collection, Duke, Oxford and Springer.
Includes topics on mathematics, computer science, and more. Covers Lecture Notes in Computer Science by Springer.
Un-check "preview only content" to view items we have access to.