Research guides: Mennonite Studies: Articles

What are peer-reviewed articles?

Peer-reviewed or academic or scholarly articles have been examined by experts in the field before publication. The peer review (or referee) process insures that the research described in a journal's articles is sound and of high quality.

More about peer-reviewed articles as compared to trade journals and popular magazines

Selected Databases for Peer-Reviewed Articles on Mennonites

America History and Life
Identifies articles, book reviews, and dissertations on American and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
Coverage: mid 1950s - present
Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
ATLAS indexes several prominent Mennonite peer-reviewed journals, including the Conrad Grebel Review (full text, 1983-present, excluding most recent year), the Journal of Mennonite Studies (indexed 1998-present), Mennonite Life (indexed 1946-2015, with full text on website), Mennonite Quarterly Review (full text, 1927-2013), Direction: A Mennonite Brethren Forum (full text 1972-present), and Vision: A Journal for Church and Theology (full text, 2000-present).
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes journal articles, books, technical reports, and dissertations covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Coverage: 1973 - present

Journal of Mennonite Studies
The Journal of Mennonite Studies is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, academic journal dealing with Mennonite Issues. This ca. 280-page annual is published by the Chair in Mennonite Studies, The University of Winnipeg, in cooperation with Canadian Mennonite University, the Centre for Mennonite Brethren Studies, Manitoba Mennonite Historical Society, the Mennonite Heritage Centre, the Mennonite Literary Society, Menno Simons College, and The University of Winnipeg. Full text from 1983-2013 is available on this open site. Index is on ATLA.
Conrad Grebel Review
This is the open source site for most past issues of Conrad Grebel Review. Index and full text are available on ATLAS.

Selected Sources for Mennonites in the Media

In addition to these sources, over 800 peridicals published by Mennonites are available in print form at the Milton Good Library. See also this guide's Digital Collections page.

CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Canadian Business and Current Affairs Complete covers current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information produced in Canada. This includes over 480 Canadian periodicals and daily news sources, including Mennonite Reporter (Indexed 1990-1997, full text 1997) and Canadian Mennonite (full text 1997-present).
Factiva
News, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.

Mennonite Brethren Herald
Mennonite Brethren Herald is published since 1962 by the Canadian Conference of Mennonite Brethren Churches, primarily for the use of its members, to build a Canadian MB community of faith (from the website). Issues available electronically on USB flash drive from 1962 to 2014 at the Milton Good Library. Issues available on the Herald website from 1995-present.

Selected Sources for Waterloo Region and Ontario Mennonite History

German Canadiana in Ontario Bibliography
This index gathers documentation relating to German-speaking people and their descendants in Ontario; covers aspects such as origin or ancestry, identity, language, social and political history, and religion; includes subtler dimensions such as culture, folklore, literature, architecture, the arts, and practices such as food preparation; represents published primary, secondary and tertiary sources; covers materials from 1800s, with large waves of German immigration to Ontario, to present day.
Ontario Mennonite History
Newsletter of the Mennonite Historical Society of Ontario