Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide has two pages:
- Opinion poll sources by geographic area
- Books about opinion polls
Photo by Tjhief. CC By-NC-ND. 2.0
Opinion poll sources by geographic area
Angus Reid Institute
Find polls on public affairs including Canadian and global topics.
Coverage: mostly current
Find omnibus polls containing questions on political, social and economic topics, with the occasional question(s) on subjects of current interest.
Coverage: 1945 - 2000
Government of Canada's Public Opinion Research Reports
Search for final reports of all public opinion research for which a contract was awarded.
Coverage: Aug 2006 - present
Laurier Institute for the Study of Public Opinion and Policy (LISPOP)
Find Canadian public opinion on policy process, specifically elections, seat projections, and voter trends.
Search datasets and surveys from Statistics Canada, ICPSR, Gallup Canada, etc. available in ODESI.
Surveys and public opinion via POLTEXT
Reports commissioned by the federal government of Canada.
Voice of the People
Find Canadians' opinions on the economy, employment, immigration, beliefs and predictions. Collected annually.
Access via ODESI. From the left navigation bar, click on "Public Opinion Poll."
Coverage: 2002 - 2011
Europe and United Kingdom
European Commission: Public Opinion
Find surveys and studies on topics concerning European citizenship such as enlargement, health, culture, the environment, the Euro, and defence.
Coverage: 1973 - present
Mass Observation (MO)
The MO archive contains two areas: material collected by investigators and material submitted by volunteers. All data were summarized in file reports. Topics include abortion, old age, crime, eating habits, shopping, fashion, dance, popular music, sex, sport, reading, ethnic minorities, and the decline of Empire.
Coverage: 1937 - 1972
Find predictive polling information on US politics, economics, sports, science, health, and culture.
Coverage: 2008 - present
Ipsos News & Polls Centre
Find polling, public opinion and market research information on topics including health, lifestyles, economy, the environment, politics, societal issues, technology, and business.
Coverage: 1995 - present
Pew Research Center
Find American opinions on US politics, media, social trends, religion, technology, and global issues.
Coverage:1990 - present
Polling the Nations
Covers some non-US polls as well.
Coverage: 1986 - present
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Includes the iPOLL search and Gallup Poll data.
Covers some international polls as well.
Coverage: 1935 - present