Research guides: Peace and Conflict Studies: Articles & Databases

Journal Directories

Find even more peace journal titles using these directories:

Peace and Justice Studies Association lists journals and newsletter titles submitted by members. Most of these journals are searchable through the library catalogue
The Directory of Open Access Journals lists peer reviewed journals available on the Internet.

Research Databases at the University of Waterloo

A search in Omni, the library catalogue, includes journal articles, newspaper articles, reviews, and conference proceedings available through many, though not all of the library's electronic subscription databases. Omni is a great place to begin a search for peace and conflict studies resources. However, if your research takes you very deeply into a topic, you will want to search databases such as the ones listed here.

For a nearly-comprehensive list of the databases available through the University of Waterloo, listed by subject area, see the Research Databases page.

Selected Research & Journals Databases for Peace & Conflict Studies

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Papers, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs relating to international affairs.
Coverage: 1991 - present
Find working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO also includes case studies written by international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Articles, books, and conference proceedings in the communications field, including advertising and public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Coverage: 1900 - present
CMMC offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and other closely related fields of study. This resource incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other top journals in communication and media studies.
ERIC - U.S. Department of Education platform
Indexes educational-related journals, conferences, government documents, bibliographies, and books.
Coverage: 1966 - present
Sponsored by the United States Department of Education.
Indigenous Collection (Informit)
Multidisciplinary topics relating to Indigenous peoples from around the world. Includes journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings.
Coverage: 1920s - present
Nexis Uni
News, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
PAIS International
Indexes public and social policy literature on business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences.
Coverage: 1915 - present
ERIC
Indexes educational-related journals, conferences, government documents, bibliographies, and books.
Coverage: 1966 - present

Selected Research & Journals Databases for Current Affairs

Alternative Press Index (API)
Tracks articles and other news pieces published in non-mainstream periodicals from the US and Canada.
Coverage: 1969 - present
API indexes articles of 5 or more paragraphs, including: editorials, regular columns, essays, fiction; speeches, interviews, statistics, reprints; bibliographies, directories, resource lists; autobiographies, biographies, obituaries, memoirs; and reviews: book, film, record, TV, drama, arts, and multimedia.

Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relating to business, culture, current events, education, language, agriculture, history, and politics in Canada.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Factiva
News, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.

Additional news sources

Selected Multi-Disciplinary Research & Journals Databases

Google Scholar
A search engine covering many disciplines and sources of scholarly literature.
Coverage: varies
Google Scholar is a search engine that emphasizes scholarly information, particularly in the sciences and technology. It draws from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities.

Note: Access To access materials paid for by your library, go to Google Scholar, then choose Settings and click "Library Links." The off-campus user will first need to login via "Get access from anywhere."
Scholars Portal Journals
A repository for scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline
Coverage: Varies
This online platform hosts multiple resources.
JSTOR
Provides access to back issues of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences, many of which date from the 1800s.
Coverage: varies (excludes current 3 to 5 years)
Web of Science
Articles and citations in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Coverage: Varies
Web of Science is comprised of several databases. The Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI) covers journals in the medical, physical and natural sciences, and engineering fields. The entire database extends back to 1899. The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) covers journals in the social sciences. The entire database extends back to 1898. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) covers journals in the arts and humanities. It also selectively covers relevant items from science and technical journals. The entire database extends back to 1975.