Research guides: Peace and Conflict Studies: News Sources

The Latest and Local

PressReader
Access to newspapers and magazines from around the world in full-color, full-page format.
No Proxy/Off campus access to the Globe and Mail via PressReader.
Coverage: Varies
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relating to business, culture, current events, education, language, agriculture, history, and politics in Canada.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Factiva
Factive has loads of extra features for analyzing news content. Use the search form for best results.
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.

Selected News Sources

Alternative Press Index (API)
Tracks articles and other news pieces published in non-mainstream periodicals from the US and Canada.
Coverage: 1969 - present
API indexes articles of 5 or more paragraphs, including: editorials, regular columns, essays, fiction; speeches, interviews, statistics, reprints; bibliographies, directories, resource lists; autobiographies, biographies, obituaries, memoirs; and reviews: book, film, record, TV, drama, arts, and multimedia.

Note: A limited number of users may access this database simultaneously; if you are unable to connect, please try later.
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Full text of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles relating to business, culture, current events, education, language, agriculture, history, and politics in Canada.
Coverage: 1982 - present
Current Digest of the Russian Press
English-language summaries of selected Soviet and Russian press materials.
Coverage: 1949 - 2010
Factiva
News, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
English translations and digests of news from around the world.
Coverage: 1941 - 1996
Independent Voices: an Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Periodicals by feminists, student radicals, Indigenous peoples, anti-war activists, Black rights advocates, two spirit, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex, and asexual (2SLGBTQ+) activists, extreme right-wing press, and more.
Coverage: 1950s - present
Nexis Uni
News, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
PressReader
Access to newspapers and magazines from around the world in full-color, full-page format.
No Proxy/Off campus access to the Globe and Mail via PressReader.
Coverage: Varies
Project Syndicate
"Op-eds" and other media/news stories from around the world. Search by keyword or browse by topic or author.
Coverage: 1990s - present
Some content has been translated into other languages including Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian, and Spanish.

ABYZ News Links
A directory of online news sources from around the world, organized by geographical locations. Includes also links to other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
On the Media
A weekly NPR radio program analyzing all things related to news, media, journalism, technology and civil rights. Includes Breaking News Consumer's Handbooks about how to analyze news events.
AP Archive
AP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press.The collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1895.

News sources from around the world

Most of these databases include multiple news sources allowing you to search a topic across different sources at the same time. Check date coverage information for each database and then for each news source to be sure it covers the scope you need.

The following list of sources has two sections:

Current
Archival (back issues and ceased publications)

Current

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Collection
1750s - present (varies by title)
Part of the Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC). Includes newspapers from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean.
Coverage: 1750s - present (varies by title)

Factiva
News, business magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts.
Coverage: 1970s - present. Varies by publication
Factiva forbids storing or using search results in research applications such as data mining or trend analysis.
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.

Google News Archive
Locations vary; dates vary.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
A list of newspaper digitization projects by country.

Nexis Uni
News, legal, and business sources from around the world, Find news, legislation, case law, statutes, company profiles, market & industry reports.
Coverage: 1970s - present
Note: If you are at a public workstation you will be asked for your WatIAM (Quest) User ID and Password.
Gale Academic OneFile: News
Access over 2500 news sources via Gale; mostly from the United States but also Canada, the UK, Australia, and other parts of the world.
Coverage: 1950s - present
PressReader
Access to newspapers and magazines from around the world in full-color, full-page format.
No Proxy/Off campus access to the Globe and Mail via PressReader.
Coverage: Varies
Project Syndicate
"Op-eds" and other media/news stories from around the world. Search by keyword or browse by topic or author.
Coverage: 1990s - present
Some content has been translated into other languages including Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian, and Spanish.

Archival (back issues and ceased publications)

Indigenous Newspapers in North America (formerly American Indian Newspapers)
A collection of papers from Indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada.
Coverage: 1828 - 2016
Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996
English translations of news broadcasts and publications on the reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and from around the world.
Coverage: 1946 - 1996
Current Digest of the Russian Press
English-language summaries of selected Soviet and Russian press materials.
Coverage: 1949 - 2010
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
English translations and digests of news from around the world.
Coverage: 1941 - 1996
Immigrations, Migrations & Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
English-language and English translations of radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, books, and United States government documents relating to immigration.
Coverage: 1941 - 1996

Jrayed – Arabic Newspaper Archive of Ottoman and Mandatory Palestine
Coverage: 1908 - 1999

Paper of Record
Archive of selected 19 and 20th century community newspapers from across Canada, the United States, and other countries.
Coverage: varies
World News in Indian Newspapers
Contains copies of three English language newspapers: The India Gazette (1782-1834); The Bengal Hurkaru and Chronicle (1822-1866); and The Bengal Times (1876-1908).
Coverage: 1782 - 1908
World Protest & Reform Movements: Global Perspectives, 1945-1996
English translations of and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, books, and United States government documents, relating to global reaction to major protest and reform movements.
Coverage: 1945 - 1996

Additional topics

American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996

Coverage: 1941-1996
Description: Reports, publications, and news broadcasts covering racial justice in the US and US race relations with Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia.

Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives
Coverage: 1960-1947
Description: Find diaries, letters, biographies, oral histories, government documents, videos, and more originating from the US, Canada, and Europe. Scholarly commentary also included.