Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Recreation and Leisure Studies: Databases

Interdisciplinary

Interdisciplinary

Scopus is a large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database. It covers all subject areas including the life sciences, health sciences (including Medline), physical sciences, and the social sciences.

The Web of Science, in spite of its name, is an interdisciplinary collection of indexes to the literature of the arts & humanities, the social sciences, as well as the sciences.

Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from international journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.

Sport, fitness, and health

SPORTDiscus provides access to the world's literature in sport, fitness, health, and sport studies. Topics include: sports medicine, applied physiology, training, sport techniques, coaching, doping, biomechanics, sport management, economics, history, biography, physical fitness and recreation.

The most popular journal database for health and medicine research.

A small but powerful journal database specializing in nursing, public health, and allied health.

Provides access to articles in a selection of journals, consumer health magazines, reference works, and pharmaceutical information. Areas of coverage include health, medicine, fitness, and nutrition.

Sociology

Sociological Abstracts is a primary resource for research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Psychology

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of advertisements and editorial board lists. Journal coverage begins as far back as 1985.

Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO provides citations, most with abstracts, to journal articles, dissertations, reports, English-language book chapters and books, and other scholarly documents in the field of psychology as well as citations relevant for medicine, education, social work, law, criminology and organizational behaviour. It covers literature from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages.

Business and economics

Provides in-depth coverage of journal articles about business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, and a wide variety of other topics.

CBCA Complete combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Subject coverage is comprehensive and information is available from the broadest range of Canadian sources anywhere. With over 4.5 million records and more than 1,665 titles, CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.

Covers the literature of economics from 1969 to present.

The Canadian Research Index provides citations and abstracts to Canadian government and research publications. The database includes all depository publications of research value issued by both the federal government and the ten provinces and two of the three territories; hard to find non-depository publications issued by hundreds of Canadian government agencies and departments; scientific and technical report literature issued by research institutes and government laboratories; policy, social, economic, and political reports; Statistics Canada monographs and serials; theses and dissertations from Canadian universities.

Education

Educational Resources Information Center provides extensive access to educational-related literature