Slavic Studies: Reference

Citation

• Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition

  • Access to print and online copies of the newest edition of the CMoS.

• MLA Handbook, Ninth Edition

  • Print copies of the MLA style guide.

General encyclopædias

• Oxford Reference

• The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the former Soviet Union

• Great Soviet Encyclopedia

• Mary Zirin's Bibliography of Pre-Revolutionary Writings by Women

Biographies

• Dictionary of Literary Biography. (In progress)

  • v. 198 Russian Literature in the Age of Pushkin and Gogol. Prose.

  • v. 205 Russian Literature in the Age of Pushkin and Gogol. Poetry and Drama.

  • v. 238 Russian Novelists in the Age of Tolstoy and Dostoevsky.

  • v. 353 Twenty-First-Century Central and Eastern European Writers.

• The Literary Encyclopedia 

  • Covers world literatures in English. Entries include authors, philosophers, works, and topics/events.

• SovLit.net: A Soviet Literature Resource

  • Coverage includes Detailed Summaries (specific authors' works) and Documents & Bios.

History and culture

• The Cambridge Companion to Modern Russian Culture

  • Covers language, religion, geography, ideological structures, folk and popular culture, literature, music, theatre, art, and film.

• Encyclopedia of Contemporary Russian Culture

• The Routledge Companion to Russian Literature (to merge)

• Historical Dictionary of Russian Theater

• The Cambridge History of Russian Literature

• The Routledge companion to Russian literature

Language dictionaries

Bilingual Dictionaries

• Folomkina, Sof´ia Kirillovna. Anglo-russkii slovar´ sochetaemosti: okolo 100,000 slovosochetanii = The Learner's English-Russian Dictionary: 100,000 Word Combinations Approx.

• Macura, Paul. Elsevier's Russian-English Dictionary.

• Wheeler, Markus. The Oxford Russian Dictionary.

 Abbreviations

• Zalucky, Henry K. Compressed Russian: Russian-English dictionary of acronyms, semiacronyms and other abbreviations.

Business Russian

• Le Fleming, Svetlana. Russian for Business Studies.

Idioms

• Lubensky, Sophia. Random House Russian-English dictionary of Idioms.

Synonyms and Antonyms

• Wade, Terence Leslie Brian. Using Russian Synonyms.

Online

• lexicool.com

  • A directory of online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet.

Literary dictionaries and encyclopædias

General

• Dictionary of Russian Women Writers.

  • Covers lives and works of 448 women writers for the period from 1760 to 1992.

• Handbook of Russian Literature.

  • Signed entries cover authors, journalists and critics, literary movements and schools, periodicals, publishing houses, genres, themes, terms, etc. Gives titles of works in translation, with Russian transliterated titles in parentheses. Includes brief bibliographies of Russian and English sources and index.

• The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet Literature. (In progress)

  • Title changed with v. 10 to: The Modern Encyclopedia of East Slavic, Baltic and Eurasian Literatures. Consists of Soviet and Western contributions covering writers, works, movements, genres, etc. Includes non-Russian and emigre literatures. Attempts to cover the whole Russian and Soviet culture.

• Reference Guide to Russian Literature.

  • A selective guide to the entire body of Russian language literature, from the Kievan period to the writing of the Russian Federation, with emphasis on 19th and 20th century authors. Author entries consist of long biographical and critical essays, accompanied by primary and secondary bibliographies. A section titled Introductory Essays provides summaries of specific literary genres and literatures by period.

20th to 21st Centuries

• The Cambridge Companion to Twentieth-Century Russian Literature.

  • Provides "a new perspective on Russian literary and cultural development." Covers literature written inside and outside of Russia.

• Kasack, Wolfgang. Dictionary of Russian Literature since 1917.

  • Offers comprehensive coverage of Russian literature since the revolution. Entries include biographical information, critical evaluations, and selected primary and secondary bibliographies.

Online

• The Literary Encyclopedia

  • Covers world literatures in English. Entries include authors, philosophers, works, and topics/events.

• SovLit.net: A Soviet Literature Resource

  • Includes Texts and Documents & Bios.

Websites

• Sean's Russia Blog

  • Blog written by Sean Guillory of the University of Pittsburgh. Includes essays and podcasts